Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

National Cinemas

On this Page

Please use the navigation menu on the left side to jump to the different sections of the page: 

Sections 

Adaptations during COVID

Bibliographies 

Subject Headings 

Books & eBooks 

Articles (Newspapers, Magazines, Scholarly Journals)

Archives & Primary Source Materials

Films & Streaming Media

Industry

Bibliographies

Cinema and Media Studies (Oxford Bibliographies Online, 2011+) "...a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites. With frequent updates..."

Note: In some cases, you can connect to the resources or the item record through the UTL Website, but direct access to the books & journal articles included within the bibliographies listed above may vary (e.g., print materials, not available at UofT); check LibrarySearch (by title) for local availability. 

Contact the Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson with any questions. 

Europe Focused Bibliographies

European Television

Eastern European Television

Immigrants and Cultural Others within Europe

Subject Headings

Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

  1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
  2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
  3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
  4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

 

Subject Headings

European Cinema

European Cinema and TV
 

Motion picture industry - Europe

Motion picture industry - Europe - History

Motion pictures - European influences

 

Books & eBooks

This section includes a selection of books and ebooks for European Cinema. Additional records can be searched and accessed using LibrarySearch, please visit our Cinema Studies Guide for additional tips and information.

Articles (Newspapers, Magazines, Scholarly Journals)

For a complete list of Article resources and search tips, the links below will redirect you to the relevant Cinema Studies Guide pages. 

Cinema Studies - Articles

List of Cinema Studies eJournals (UTORid and some Open Access)

Recommended Article resources for European Cinema:

Studies in European Cinema Provides a place for readers interested in European cinema and the film cultures of Europe, bringing together experts from a variety of fields in order to facilitate interdisciplinary exchange.

Images The International Journal of European Film, Performing Arts and Audiovisual Communication.

Slavic and East European Performance: Drama, Theatre, Film The journal includes features on important plays in performance, archival documents, innovative productions, significant revivals, emerging artists, and the latest in film.

Studies in Eastern European Cinema Studies in Eastern European Cinema provides a dynamic, innovative, regular, specialized peer-reviewed academic outlet and discursive focus for the world-wide community of Eastern European film scholars, edited by a board of experienced, internationally recognized experts in the field.

CineEuropa Useful source of news about European cinema. Includes an index of films and profiles of the film industries of European countries. Site is available in English, Spanish, French and Italian

Newspapers

Follow this link Search within Newspapers and enter your keyword search terms in the search bar.

NOTE: Newspaper results are excluded form the default LibrarySearch results page.

To see Newspaper results click the 'Newspapers Search' hyperlink listed at the bottom of the Format filter on the left sidebar of results page.

European Newspapers:

European Newsstream (ProQuest)

Factiva

Complete List of European Newspapers

Archives & Primary Source Materials

What is a primary source?

"A primary source is a document that was created at the time of the event or subject you've chosen to study, or by people who were observers of, or participants in that event or topic."​ ​

~ E.H. Brown, “Writing about History” UofT Writing Advice​

Primary source materials include Text (film reviews, advertisements, business documents, personal records or diaries, press kits, scripts), Recordings (interviews, radio shows, film footage)  & Objects (images, storyboards, costumes, musical scores) created in that time period.

 

Recommended Primary Source resources for European Cinema:

Europeana Collections is a major digital cultural heritage platform, financed by European Union. 3000 European archives, libraries and museums contributed approximately 50 million digitized items.

EUscreen The EUscreen portal offers free online access to available multimedia resources (video clips, images, audio and texts) from European broadcasting bodies and film and TV archives.

EuroDocs Open access sources provide links to primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. The documents cover a broad range of historical events (political, economic, social, and cultural) in each of the 49 European countries. The order of documents is chronological and may include videos or sound files, maps, databases, and other documentation.

European History Primary Sources This is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. The database provides access to selected scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. Digital repositories can be browsed by country, language, period, subject and type of source.

European Cinema Yearbook incl. statistics 1998+. Online.

International Federation of Film Archives Find more archival collections and materials available online.

Films & Streaming Media

A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORid. Individual title records are available in the UofT Catalogue through LibrarySearch.

Online Streaming 

Streamable Film Collections via UofT Libraries (UTORid required)

Freely Available Online Video Resources (Open Access/Freely Available) - Scroll to the bottom of the page for the list.

Cinema Studies - Watch Films (Streaming & Physical media)

Visit the individual Nation pages in this Guide using the left sidebar navigation menu for nation-specific streaming resources.

 

Recommended streaming for European cinema:

Open Access - No login required to access these resources (exceptions will be stated) 

European Film Gateway (EFG) gives you quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.

EU Screen Offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.

Physical Media (DVD, Blu-ray, etc.)

Media Commons (MC) DVD, Blu-ray & Heritage Audiovisual Formats - Redirects to Media Commons information on physical media collections, search aids, and viewing facilities. 

UofT Media Archives

Media Commons (MC) Media Archives contains different film formats, personal & business documents, images & more with a focus on film / video production, advertising, electronic & print journalism, broadcasting, photographic arts, & multimedia / music production. Several collections have special focus on Canadian media & popular culture.​ ​

**APPOINTMENT REQUIRED (contact MC Media Archivists):​ mediacommons.library.utoronto.ca/contact-media-archives​ ​

Industry

This section contains resources that pertain to the film industry, production, and distribution of European cinema. These can be valuable resources for discovering upcoming productions, new directors, international and local film festivals, and the nation's key production companies and distributors.

National or Local Industry Organizations

Europa Cinemas

European Digital Cinema Forum (EDCF)

International Union of Cinemas

International Confederation of Arthouse Cinemas

Media Salles (European Union)

Film & Media Distributors and Production Companies

Europa Distribution

Film Festivals 

European Media Art Festival

Berlin International Film Festival

BFI London Film Festival

Cannes International Film Festival

Edinburgh International Film Festival & Edinburgh Short Film Festival

Venice International Film Festival

Barcelona International Women's Film Festival

International Film Festival Rotterdam

Annecy International Animation Film Festival