Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

NOTE: Not case-sensitive; punctuation not necessary; leave a space between each word.

Subject Headings 

for Individuals (directors, actors, producers), search as above; use last name, first name

• e.g., hitchcock alfred or rank j arthur

for books about specific films (Search as above, choosing either Title or Subject from drop-down menu):

• e.g., 39 steps (not The 39 steps)

for books about film studios (headings vary; search as above):

• e.g., Hammer film productions, or rank organisation history

If you prefer to browse the shelves:

• books about British and Scottish cinema are shelved within the Call Number range PN1993.5 .G7;
• books about Irish cinema are shelved within the Call Number range PN1993.5 .I85.
• books about Welsh cinema are shelved within the Call Number range PN1993.5 .W34.
• Robarts, Innis, VIC-Pratt, and SMC libraries all have substantial holdings in their respective collections.

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals

• Journal of British cinema and television vol. 1:1(2004)+
• International journal of Scottish theatre and screen

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

• United Kingdom Cinema: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library Incl. bibliographies of books & articles on individual British and Irish directors; Black British Film; links to bibliographies of books & articles on:
  • British Documentary Movement
  • Hammer Films
  • Ealing Studios

• British Cinema
• Irish Cinema
• Alfred Hitchcock

Great Britain (England)

• BFI Screenonline
• A Companion to Alfred Hitchcock. Ebook.
• WOMEN AND SILENT BRITISH CINEMA "has been created to collate and share research being undertaken on women and cinema in Britain during the silent era".
• World Film Locations: London Ebook.
• Directory of World Cinema: Britain Ebook.
• Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema (Victorian Popular Culture) explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time. Documents.
• 100 Years at the Phoenix: Archive of an Oxford Cinema 1913 – 2013 (Hiu M Chan, Phoenix Centenary Project, 2013). Also here. "...an almost complete list of films shown at the cinema over the past one hundred years. The research was comprehensive and involved interviews, examinations of old cinema programmes (many faithfully collected by customers over the years) and above all, a study of local newspapers from 1913 to 2013. This cinema archive is a unique research of film history, in particular British cinema exhibition history. It will be a useful reference guide to film historians, film lovers, scholars of Social Studies, Cultural Studies, Archeology and other disciplines.
• The holiday and British film Ebook
• The lasting influence of the war on postwar British film Ebook
• The British film industry in the 1970s: capital, culture and creativity Ebook
• British silent cinema and The Great War Ebook
• British cinema in the fifties: gender, genre, and the 'new look' Ebook
• British popular films, 1929-1939: the cinema of reassurance Ebook
• Higson, Andrew. Film England: culturally English filmmaking since the 1990s. Robarts.

Scotland

• Scotland: global cinema: genres, modes and identities Ebook
• World Film Locations: Glasgow Ebook.

Ireland

• Historical dictionary of Irish cinema Ebook.
• World Film Locations: Dublin Ebook.
• Modernism, Ireland, and the erotics of memory Ebook
• Men and masculinities in Irish cinema Ebook
• Contemporary Irish cinema: from The quiet man to Dancing at Lughnasa Ebook
• Cinema on the periphery: contemporary Irish and Spanish film. Conn Holohan. Innis, Robarts.
• Irish films, global cinema. Martin McLoone & Kevin Rockett, editors. Innis, St. Mike's.