Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

• motion picture industry spain (portugal)
• motion picture producers and directors spain (portugal)
• motion pictures spain (portugal)

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g., erice victor

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Scholarly Journals

• Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinemas (2013+) Peer Reviewed
  • Studies in Hispanic Cinemas (2004-2012) (new title: Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinemas)
• Secuencias: Revista de Historia del Cine (1994+) Peer Reviewed, Spanish-language peer-reviewed journal specialized in Film Studies, with special attention to Historiography.
• Revista de Medicina y Cine / Journal of Medicine and Movies RMC/JMM  Peer Reviewed, This open access journal publishes in Spanish & English language 
• Cinema: Journal of Philosophy and the Moving Image  (2010+) This peer-reviewed open access journal is published by Universidade Nova de Lisboa and prints in English and Portuguese. 

Magazines

• ¡Hola! (2013+) a weekly Spanish-language magazine based in Madrid specializing in celebrity news
• Cinémas d'Amérique latine (1992-2017) Spanish-language industry magazine published by ARCALT - Association des Rencontres Cinémas d'Amérique Latine de Toulouse which organizes CinéLatino, a film festival devoted to Latin American cinema

The following magazines can be searched via Media History Digital Library's Lantern interface.

• Cine-Mundial (1916-1946) This publication is the the Spanish-language version of Moving Picture World and focused on issues that were important to its readers in Latin American and Spain 
• Mensajero Paramount (1927-1938) an in-​house publication dedicated to the interests of Spanish-speaking film exhibitors

1. Go to MHDL LANTERN -  Advanced Search
2. Paste the title in the appropriate field, along with search terms (maximum 3 keywords and avoid using AND, OR, NOT) 

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

Spanish Cinema (incl. Almodovar and Bunuel bibliographies)

Manoel de Oliveira (Oxford Bibliographies Online)

• Film & Cinema in Latin America and Spain (Research guide, Tulane U.)
• A Companion to Spanish Cinema. Edited by Jo Labanyi and Tatjana Pavlovic. (2013). Ebook. SEE ALSO: A Companion to Spanish Cinema (alternate version).
• 100 years of Spanish cinema / Tatjana Pavlović ... [et al.]. 2009. Ebook.
• Historical dictionary of Spanish cinema Ebook.
• Directory of World Cinema: Spain. Ebook.
• World Film Locations: Madrid. Print, Robarts
• A companion to Pedro Almodóvar. edited by Marvin D'Lugo and Kathleen M. Vernon. (2013). Ebook
• A companion to Luis Bunuel. edited by Rob Stone and Julian Daniel Gutiérrez-Albilla. (2013). Ebook.
• Cinema on the periphery: contemporary Irish and Spanish film. Conn Holohan. Innis, Robarts.