Research Guides: National Cinemas: Globalization, Transnationalism, etc

Finding Books - Globalization, Transnationalism, etc.

Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box
Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

Arts and globalization
Communication, International
Culture and globalization
Culture in motion pictures
Globalization cultural aspects (economic aspects, political aspects, religious aspects, social aspects, etc.)
globalization africa (Arab countries, China, etc.)
Globalization in motion pictures
Globalization moral and ethical aspects
Globalization philosophy
Identity (Psychology) in motion pictures
Imperialism in motion pictures
Intercultural communication in motion pictures

mass media and culture
Mass media and globalization
Motion picture industry Economic aspects Foreign countries
motion picture industry india (japan, china, etc.)
Motion pictures and globalization
Motion pictures and transnationalism
motion pictures japan (China, etc.) social aspects
Multiculturalism in motion pictures
National characteristics in motion pictures
Nationalism in motion pictures
Popular culture Asia

Finding Journal Articles - Globalization, Transnationalism, etc.

How To Find Journal Articles

Research Databases

Film-specific databases

FIAF Film Archive Databases (OVID)
A collection of International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) Film Databases (International Index to Film Periodicals 1972 onwards and International Index to TV Periodicals 1979 to 2006). Databases are available through OVID https://bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos
Access - Limited number of users at one time

American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window
The American Film Institute Catalog (AFI) covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
(1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
(1913-current).

Interdisciplinary databases

ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
JSTOR
Project MUSE
Google Scholar (can only filter by date, patents and law)

Specific Journals

Miscellaneous - Globalization, Transnationalism, etc.

Bibliographies

These lists of resources are curated on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help.

Oxford Online Bibliography - Transnational and Diasporic Cinema
- "..a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites."
National Cinemas (U. California-Berkeley Libraries)
- All UCB-Library bibliographies incl. books & articles on individual filmmakers and/or films.
- These bibliographies have been archived and are accessed using the Wayback Machine

General (books, articles, dissertations, etc)

Books
- The age of new waves: art cinema and the staging of globalization EBOOK. Also at INNIS, ROBA
- Celli, Carlo. National identity in global cinema: how movies explain the world. EBOOK
- Cinema and nation. edited by Mette Hjort and Scott MacKenzie. Ebook. Also at: Innis, Robarts, St. Mike's, TRIN, VIC/Pratt.
- The cinema of small nations. edited by Mette Hjort and Duncan Petrie. Innis, Robarts.
- Cinemas, identities and beyond. edited by Ruby Cheung, with D.H. Fleming. Innis.
Articles
- The Impact of Globalization on Iranian Cinema, Asian Cinema, Volume 13, Number 1, p. 3-16.
- Impact of Globalization on the Cinema in China, Asian Cinema, Volume 13, Number 1, p. 39-43.
- Hollywood's Poorer Cousin -- Indian Cinema in an Era of Globalization, Asian Cinema, Volume 13, Number 1, p. 17-26.
- Bollywood Cinema at the Crossroads: Tracking the Dimensions of Globalization in Postcolonial Popular Hindi Cinema, Mass Communication and Society, Volume 14, Issue 6, (November 2011), pp. 700 - 719
- Engagé to Indigné: French Cinema and the Crises of Globalization, SubStance, Volume 43, Number 1, 2014 (Special issue, no. 133)
- Globalization and African cinema: distribution and reception in the anglophone region, Journal of African Cinemas, vol. 1, no. 1 (July 2009)
- Special Issue: French Cinema and Globlization, French Politics, Culture & Society, Vol. 23, No. 3, (Winter 2005)
- Transnationalism and Spanish cinema, Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies, Vol. 16, no. 1 (2015)
- Shim, Doobo, Globalization and Cinema Regionalization in East Asia, Korea journal, Vol.45, no. 4 (2005)
- Ian Christie. "Where Is National Cinema Today (and Do We Still Need It)?" Film History: An International Journal 25.1 (2013): 19-30.

Research Guides

National Cinemas

Cinema Studies Librarian