Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

NOTE: Not case-sensitive; punctuation not necessary; leave a space between each word

Learn how to build effective searches with Boolean Search Operators (AND, OR, NOT) and Modifiers (Quotation marks, asterisk *, parantheses) 

Subject Headings

 Individuals (search procedure same as above). Format last name, first name

• Eisenstein, Sergei
• Pudovkin Vsevolod Illarionovich
• Kuleshov, L. V.
• Dovzhenko, Oleksandr Petrovych
• Vertov, Dziga
• motion picture producers and directors soviet union
• women motion picture producers and directors russia
• Motion picture actors and actresses Soviet Union

UTL Research Guide - Slavic and East European Resources 

• Databases and Indexes
• Russian National Bibliography  
  • A comprehensive bibliography of Russian printed works providing access to books, newspapers, journals, book criticism and reviews, the arts, sheet music, dissertations and maps.
• Central and East European Online Library (open access) 
  • C.E.E.O.L. is an online archive providing access to full text articles from about 1000 academic and cultural journals pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. The database covers scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences, as well as literary and cultural periodicals, providing an overview of the histories, cultures, societies, and politics of more than 20 countries.  Articles in the archive are published in a number of Slavic, Baltic, Finno-Ugric, and other European languages, with the highest percentage of articles published in English, Croatian, Serbian, Romanian, Bulgarian, Polish, Hungarian, Czech, and Slovak.

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• Film Indexes - Databases with profiles on film, productions companies and key people in film industry. 
  • American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• FIAF international index to film periodicals (1972+)
  • Only three users can access at time.
  • Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)

Journals

Studies in Russian and Soviet Cinema (2007+)

KinoKultura 

Includes articles, film reviews, festival reports, interviews with directors, as well as Special Issues on specific locations. 

Explore UofT Libraires Subject headings 

• Motion pictures -- Soviet Union -- Periodicals
• Motion pictures -- Russia (Federation) -- Periodicals

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

• Dziga Vertov
• Film Theory Before 1945 esp. sections on Soviet Film Theory and Russian Formalism and the Left Front of the Arts.
• Russian Cinema See sections on: Pre-revolutionary Cinema; Early Soviet Cinema, 1920s; Russian and Soviet Film Theory; 
• Russian and Soviet Cinema: Bibliography (Russo-Soviet cinema, 1896 to 2009). (U. of Pittsburgh, 2009)
• East European Cinema: A Bibliography ... (UC Berkeley) Incl. bibliographies on Soviet Union/Russian cinema and on individual Soviet/Russian directors.
• Sergei Eisenstein
• Andrei Tarkovsky

Books

• The contemporary Russian cinema reader 2005-2016. Edited by Rimgaila Salys. 2019. Print and EBOOK
• The Russian Cinema Reader. Edited by Rimgaila Salys. 2 vols. 2013. INNIS and EBOOK
• Directory of World Cinema: Russia, by Birgit Beumers 2011. EBOOK
• New East Symposium, University of Pittsburgh (1999+)
  • Past Russian Film Symposia
  • University of Pittsburgh Russian and Soviet Cinema: Bibliography which includes filmographies, Russian and Soviet Filmmakers: A-Z, other related resources.
  • Springtime for Soviet cinema: Re/Viewing the 1960s. Edited by Alexander Prokhorov. (2001)
• Inside Soviet Film Satire: Laughter with a Lash. Edited by Andrew Horton. 1993. INNIS and EBOOK.
  • A lively collection of sixteen original essays by Soviet, American, and Canadian scholars and film commentators. It is the first in-depth examination of an important genre within the Soviet film tradition.
• Russian Critics on the Cinema of Glasnost. Edited by Michael Brashinsky and Andrew Horton. 1994. EBOOK.
  • This collection brings together twenty-three essays by some of Russia's most astute commentators on film and culture, written during the 1980s and published here in English for the first time. Included are reviews of films such as Little Vera and Taxi Blues,....
• Sylvie Dallet, "Historical time in Russian, Armenian, Georgian and Kirghiz cinema" IN: The Red Screen: Politics, Society, Art in Soviet Cinema. 1992. EBOOK
• The Thaw: Soviet society and culture during the 1950s and 1960s. Edited by Denis Kozlov and Eleonory Gilburd. (2013) EBOOK
• Art, society, revolution : Russia, 1917-1921. Print. Robarts.
• Imagining mass dictatorships: the individual and the masses in literature and cinema. 2013. EBOOK
• David Gillespie and Natal'ia Zhuravkina, "National identity and the past in recent Russian cinema", in: Mette Bryld & Erik Kulavig, eds, Soviet civilization between past and present. ROBA

Reference (Dictionaries, Handbooks)

• Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Cinema. P. Rollberg. 2nd ed., Rowman & Littlefield, 2016. EBOOK
• A Companion to Russian Cinema. Edited by Birgit Beumers. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2016. INNIS and EBOOK
• The Palgrave Handbook of Russian Thought. Edited by M. F. Bykova, M. N. Forster, L. Steiner, M. N. Forster, and M. F. Bykova. 2021. EBOOK
• The Cambridge companion to modern Russian culture, 2nd Edition. Print and EBOOK
• Soviet cinema. Film periodicals, 1918-1942. Part 2, Newspapers. on microfilm PN1993 .S58mfm "The collection includes Soviet film magazines from the 1920s and 1930s..." (How to request and view microfilm)

Books 

• Pontieri, Laura. Fëdor Khitruk : A Look at Soviet Animation through the Work of One Master. CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group, 2024. eBook and INNIS

• Pontieri, Laura. Soviet Animation and the Thaw of the 1960s : Not Only for Children. John Libbey & Co., 2012. Print INNIS, ROBARTS

• Leigh, Michele, and Lora Mjolsness. She Animates : Soviet Female Subjectivity in Russian Animation. Academic Studies Press, 2020. INNIS and EBOOK

• Cowen, Eleanor. Animation behind the Iron Curtain. John Libbey Publishing Ltd, 2020. Print ROBARTS

• Katz, Maya Balakirsky. Drawing the Iron Curtain : Jews and the Golden Age of Soviet Animation. Rutgers University Press, 2016. INNIS and EBOOK.

Other Research

• Anatoliy Klots. "Depicting the Trickster: Soviet Animation and Russian Folktales" Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies, University of Washington

• Natalie Kononenko. "The Politics of Innocence: Soviet and Post-Soviet Animation on Folklore Topics." Journal of American Folklore 124.494 (2011): 272-294.