Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings 

Other Search Strategies

Using the UTCat link below to search:

UTCat Browse/Subject Search

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g. Herzog Werner, Rainer Werner Fassbinder  
• If a filmmaker's name includes accents (e.g., Egon Günther, be sure to launch a search with the accents and another search without the accents. 
• Use quotation marks to narrow the search to specific order of words - e.g., "Rainer Werner Fassbinder"

Film titles  (Search as above; use quotation marks to search for exact phrases)

• e.g., "Heart of Glass",  "The Merchant of Four Seasons​"

If you have a common or generic title, launch a search for the filmmakers name and film title. 

• e.g., Herzog AND "Happy People"

Your search results may include entire books on your topic or just one chapter, be sure to click through and examine the book record for mention in the table of contents or review blurbs. 

If you prefer to browse the shelves:

• books about German film (history, industry, etc.) are shelved within the Call Number range PN1993.5 .G3. Both Innis and Robarts libaries have substantial holdings in their respective collections;

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

These resources can help you find facts about specific films, directors, production companies and occasionally actors. 

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).
• German History and its Digital Memory in Moving Images (German Federal Archives Collection) Offers World War I Era (1914-1918) films as well as films from the Weimar Republic era (1919-1933).

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

• German Cinema See sections on Weimar and Nazi Cinemas.
• German/Austrian Cinema: A Selected Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library includes bibliography (books & journal articles) on Film and the Third Reich, as well as bibliographies on individual filmmakers.
• Film Theory Before 1945
• Film Theory
• Marlene Dietrich
• Werner Herzog

Reference

• A Companion to German Cinema, Ebook
• A Companion to Michael Haneke, Ebook
• A Companion to Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Ebook
• A Companion to Werner Herzog, Ebook
• Historical dictionary of German cinema Print only; Robarts
• Directory of World Cinema: Germany (single user Ebook)
• World Film Locations: Berlin Print, Robarts

filmportal.de

filmportal.de is a free-of-charge internet platform for reliable, in-depth information on German cinema.