Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g., makhmalbaf muhsin

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

For the purposes of this guide, Middle East/North Africa includes: Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco (the nations forming the Maghreb), and Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

• Middle Eastern/North African Cinema (incl. Algeria/Morocco/Tunisia, Egypt, Iran, Israel/Palestine, Turkey) - bibliography from U. of Calif, Berkeley Library
  • This bibliography was archived in August 2018 and is now accessed via Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
• Israeli Cinema (Oxford Bibliographies Online, OBO)
• Iranian Cinema (OBO)

Books & eBooks 

• Historical dictionary of Middle Eastern cinema Ebook.
• Directory of World Cinema: Iran Ebook.
• World Film Locations: Istanbul Print, Robarts
• Eylem Atakav, Women and Turkish cinema: gender politics, cultural identity and representation. New York: Routledge, 2012. Ebook.
• Ridgeon, Lloyd (2000). Makhmalbaf's broken mirror: the socio-political significance of modern Iranian cinema. Durham, U.K.: University of Durham, Centre for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies, 2000.

Articles

• Phoebe Bronstein, Man-made martyrs in the age of mechanical reproduction: disturbing manufactured martyrdom in Paradise Now Jump Cut 52.
• Brian Cagle, Be Calm and Count to Seven — challenging generic concepts of New Iranian Cinema Jump Cut 52.
• Iranian Cinema (BFI, 2002)

Farahmand, A. (2006). At the crossroads: International film festivals and the constitution of the new Iranian cinema Dissertation