Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals

• Senses of Cinema (online) an excellent source for articles on individual directors and films.
• Studies in Australasian Cinema (2007+)

• New Zealand cinema: interpreting the past. Edited by Alistair Fox, Barry Keith Grant and Hilary Radner. Bristol, UK ; Chicago : Intellect, 2011. Ebook.
• Historical dictionary of Australian and New Zealand cinema Ebook.
• Directory of World Cinema: Australia and New Zealand Ebook.
• World Film Locations: Melbourne Ebook.
• The Black List : Film and TV projects since 1970 with Indigenous Australians in key creative roles. Sydney : Screen Australia 2010

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help.

• Australian Cinema (Oxford Bibliographies Online, OBO)
• New Zealand Cinema (OBO)
• Jane Campion (OBO)

UC Berkeley LIbrary Bibliographies 

• UC Berkeley Library's bibliography was archived in August 2018 and accessed through Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
• Australian and New Zealand Cinema 
• Directors: Jane Campion, Peter Jackson, Peter Weir