Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

• Historical dictionary of Polish cinema Print only; Robarts
• A Companion to Eastern European Cinemas. Aniko Imre, ed. (2012). Ebook.
• Directory of World Cinema: East Europe Ebook.

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help.

• Márta Mészáros (Oxford Bibliographies Online - OBO)
• Maya Deren (OBO)
• Roman Polanski (OBO)
• Yugoslav and Post-Yugoslav Cinema (OBO)
• Romanian Cinema (OBO)
• Polish Cinema (OBO)
• Russian/Soviet/East European Cinema
  • Please note that this bibliography was created by UC Berkeley Library and archived in August 2018. 
  • Includes Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia, Serbia, Croatia, Macedonia).
  • Content listed includes books & journal articles on individual directors and films.

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

KinoKultura (online journal) incl. special issues on:

• Poland (2005)
• Slovakia (2005)
• Czech Rep. (2006)
• Bulgaria (2006)
• Romania (2007)
• Hungary (2008)
• Serbia (2009)
• Ukraine (2009)
• Estonia (2010) 
• Croatia (2011)
• Latvia (2012)
• Bosnia (2012)
• Macedonia (2015)
• Albania (2016)
• Armenia (2016)
• Azerbaijan(2018)  
• forthcoming: Sakha

Other Journals

• New Hungarian Quarterly v. 1-33 (1960-1992); subsequently titled: Hungarian Quarterly v. 34 (1993+). PRINT ONLY;
  ROBA Stacks Call Number AP4 .N42; also online (2005-2011)
• Kinoeye: new perspectives on European film Kinoeye was an online journal of European film published between 2001 and 2004, and prior to that it was a column in Central Europe Review.
• Studies in Eastern European Cinema 2010+
• Senses of Cinema (online) an excellent source for articles on individual directors and films.
• Slavic and East European Performance

Balkans

• Samardzija, Z. (2005). "We've crossed the border, but we're still here": Cinema, the Balkans, and the unification of Europe

Bulgaria

• Garbolevsky, E. (2011). The conformists: Creativity and decadence in the Bulgarian cinema: 1945--1989

Czechoslovakia

• Lovejoy, A. (2009). (Order No. 3395944). The army and the avant garde: Art cinema in the Czechoslovak military, 1951--1971

Eastern Europe

• Vermillion, B. B. (2011). Art cinema in Eastern Europe, 1956--1981

Hungary

• Frey, D. S. (2003). National cinema, world stage: A history of Hungary's sound film industry, 1929--1944
• Fackler, J. S. (2007). Andrzej Munk's cinema of internalized exile (1957--1961)