Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

National Cinemas

Finding Books - Globalization, Transnationalism, etc.

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the suggested headings, exactly as they appear, in the search box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu:

UTCat Browse/Subject Search

  • Arts and globalization
  • Communication, International
  • Culture and globalization
  • Culture in motion pictures
  • Globalization cultural aspects (economic aspects, political aspects, religious aspects, social aspects, etc.)
  • globalization africa (Arab countries, China, etc.)
  • Globalization in motion pictures
  • Globalization moral and ethical aspects
  • Globalization philosophy
  • Identity (Psychology) in motion pictures
  • Imperialism in motion pictures
  • Intercultural communication in motion pictures
  • mass media and culture
  • Mass media and globalization
  • Motion picture industry Economic aspects Foreign countries
  • motion picture industry india (japan, china, etc.)
  • Motion pictures and globalization
  • Motion pictures and transnationalism
  • motion pictures japan (China, etc.) social aspects
  • Multiculturalism in motion pictures
  • National characteristics in motion pictures
  • Nationalism in motion pictures
  • Popular culture Asia

Finding Journal Articles - Globalization, Transnationalism, etc.

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals

Miscellaneous - Globalization, Transnationalism, etc.

Bibliographies

These lists of resources are curated on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

  • Oxford Online Bibliography - Transnational and Diasporic Cinema
    • "..a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites."
  • National Cinemas (U. California-Berkeley Libraries)
    • All UCB-Library bibliographies incl. books & articles on individual filmmakers and/or films.
    • These bibliographies have been archived and are accessed using the Wayback Machine

General (books, articles, dissertations, etc))