Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g., renoir jean

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).
• Cahiers du Cinéma (Archive.org) Archived issues of the French film criticism publication Cahiers du Cinéma, spanning 1951-1979.
• Presse de Cinéma (Gallica) Selection of press titles accompanying the development of cinema as a technique and as an art, since the beginning of the 20th century.

from Oxford Bibliographies Online

• French Cinema
• Auteurism
• Andre Bazin
• Jean Cocteau
• Gilles Deleuze
• Claire Denis
• Chris Marker
• Max Ophuls
• Agnes Varda
• Film Theory

from University of California-Berkeley Library

• French Cinema: A Bibliography of Books and Articles in the UC Berkeley Libraries Incl. books & journal articles, as well as bibliographies on individual filmmakers and their films.

Selected Bibliography at UofT Library (EBOOKS):

• French national cinema
• Andrew, Dudley. What Cinema Is! Bazin's Quest and its Charge
• Kline, T. Jefferson. Unraveling French Cinema: From L'atalante to Caché
• Interpreting the republic: marginalization and belonging in contemporary French novels and films
• The new extremism in cinema: from France to Europe

• A Companion to Contemporary French Cinema
• A companion to Francois Truffaut
• A Companion to Jean-Luc Godard
• A Companion to Jean Renoir
• French Animation History

• Directory of World Cinema: France
• Historical dictionary of French cinema Print only; Robarts, Vic
• World Film Locations: Marseilles
• World Film Locations: Paris

Ouvrir Bazin: a Database of his articles (Yale University) in French, searchable.

The films of late late Godard (October 2015) Audio.