Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g., Meirelles Fernando, or Santos Nelson Pereira dos

If you prefer to browse the shelves 

Books about national cinemas (history, industry, etc.) of the following countries are shelved within the Call Number ranges indicated:

Call Numbers 

• Books about the cinemas of Mexico, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina, and Chile predominate; both Innis and Robarts libraries have substantial holdings of books on the cinemas of these countries. There is far less written about other Latin American countries.
• Additional material can be found using Journal Article Databases (below), Google Scholar in particular.
• Innis Library's collection contains books written in English only; Robarts Library's collection is multilingual.

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content). Includes both books & journal articles. The vast majority of the books which will appear in your results list are available at UTLibrary. Search for any of these by title in LibrarySearch.
  Search suggestion: enter cinema brazil in Search Box.
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

Film - Primary Source Databases

Journals

• Studies in Hispanic Cinemas (2004-2012) (new title: Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinemas)
• Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinemas 2013+
• Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies

Other articles

• Sarah Barrow, "Out of the Shadows: ‘New’ Peruvian Cinema, National Identity and Political Violence", Modern Languages Open (MLO), Dec. 2014.

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

Oxford Bibliographies Online

• Latin American Cinema
  • Incl. Mexico, Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, other national cinemas; documentary; contemporary cinema and globalization, more.
• Argentine Cinema (Oxford Bibliographies Online, OBO)
• Film (Latino Studies)
• Contemporary Brazilian Cinema
• Cuban Cinema (OBO)
• Mexican Film
• Latina/o Americans in Film and Television 
• Horror in Literature and Film in Latin America

Other Bibliographies 

• Mexican, Caribbean, and Latin American Cinema
  • Please note that this is an archived bibliography crafted by UC Berkeley Library (accessed using Internet Archive's Wayback Machine).
  • Includes Cuba, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru

Books

• Art from a fractured past: memory and truth telling in post-Shining Path Peru. At ROBARTS and Online.
• The art and politics of Bolivian cinema At ROBARTS.
• Cinema and the Sandinistas: filmmaking in revolutionary Nicaragua At ROBARTS.
• Writing national cinema: film journals and film culture in Peru At ROBARTS.
• Mercedes Vázquez, Secuestro Express and La clase: politics of realism in contemporary Venezuelan filmmaking
• Neobaroque in the Americas : alternative modernities in literature, visual art, and film At ROBARTS.
• New trends in Argentine and Brazilian cinema. edited by Cacilda Rêgo and Carolina Rocha. At INNIS and ROBARTS.
• Karush, Matthew B. Culture of class: radio and cinema in the making of a divided Argentina, 1920-1946. At ROBARTS and Online.
• Film & Cinema in Latin America and Spain (Research guide containing other print resources, Tulane U.)

• Dias, Anna Pavlova Murta (2008). An examination of Central Station (1998) as prototype for a 21st century genre of Brazilian social drama in cinema
• de Lourenco, C. I. (1998). Negotiating africanness in national identity: Studies in brazilian and cuban cinema.
• Furtado, G. P. (2012). Cinema of experience: Brazilian film and the processes of production.
• Spinella, M. (2004). Cinema in Cuban national development: Women and film making culture
• Couillard, Caroline. 2008. Marginalized spaces in end-of-century Latin American literature and film. (Ph.D. thesis, U. of Toronto). Online, FT. " ... focuses primarily on the perceptions and interpretations of urban space in Latin American film and literature from the 1990s."