Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Cinema Studies

Access Films through UofT Libraries

Online Films through UofT Libraries Catalogue

Physical Films & TV Series (DVD, BluRay, VHS)

Robarts Library - Films, Viewing Stations, Screening Rooms

Please be aware that the 3rd floor service desk has closed. For questions about access and room bookings, please get in touch via phone or email <media.commons@utoronto.ca>. 

  • Submit Hold Requests to borrow films and tv series for home-viewing or elsewhere!
  • View films on campus:  
    • On-site viewing stations (VCRs, BluRay players, and All region DVD players available on the 3rd floor of Robarts). 
    • Bookable screening rooms at Media Commons for group viewings on the 3rd floor of Robarts.
    • External disc drives that you can borrow and connect to your own laptop.  

 

Innis College Library -  Animation Kiosk

(2nd Floor, East Wing of 2 Sussex Ave - above the Registrar's Office)

  • Book a timeslot to use the Animation Kiosk (1 user at a time) onsite (Library's main floor, R. 220 E). 
  • Innis College Library is fortunate to house an Animation Kiosk that is a joint venture with ASIFA Hollywood (www.asifa-hollywood.org) and Stephen Worth (animationresources.org), the kiosk contains biographies of animators, producers, and comic book artists, as well as rare animation, drawings, cels, and other artwork.
  • Please bring your own earphones that can be plugged in (USB or headphone plug). 

 

John M. Kelly Library (St. Michael's College) - Films

(113 St Joseph St)

 

Music Library  (Audiovisual Collections, Viewing Stations)

(80 Queen's Park Crescent)

  • Listening/viewing stations equipped with CD/DVD/Blu-ray players and headphones. Select stations also support VHS tape playback. 

 

Request Inter Library Deliveries between UofT campuses

  • This service allows you to access materials between libraries on Downsview, UofT Scarborough, UofT Missisauga, and St. George libraries. 

Online Film Collections via UofT Catalogue

A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORID. Individual title records are available in the UofT Libraries Catalogue.

Full list of UTL online film collections 

We highly recommend visiting UTL Media Commons Streaming Video page because it is continually being updated and contains even more online film collections, incl. Streaming Film Resources, Educational and Curriculum Video Resources (Multi-Subject), Subject Specific Video Resources, Health and Sciences Videos

A few of the collections to highlight 

  • Audio Cine Films
    • ACF is a film streaming service containing many new Hollywood releases (incl. Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Touchstones Pictures, Universal, Columbia Pictures, & MGM Pictures, Sony Pictures, and more) 
    • NOTE: Titles are displayed in LibrarySearch, however we recommend searching within the ACF service if you are unable to find a title.
  • Asian film Online
    • A  selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts by Independent Asian filmmakers. 
  • Alexander Street - Academic Video Online
    • Pro-Quest service featuring an array of video collections. For a full list of Alexander Street Collections, select 'Menu' then the drop down menu 'My Collections.'
  • Criterion-on-Demand Canada (Feature Films)
    • Numerous Titles are available in both English and French from film studios including: Paramount Pictures, Lionsgate Films, Alliance Films, Warner Brothers, Miramax Films, Mongrel Media.
    • Browse by genre categories or search by keyword.
    • For Advanced Search, find the link marked "Click here to activate all search menus".
    • NOTE:Titles are displayed in LibrarySearch, however we recommend searching within the Criterion service if you are unable to find a title.
  • Docuseek2 Collection
    • "This rich selection of issues-based documentary film comes from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the National Film Board of Canada, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world."'
  • FADIS 
    • UofT's Visual Image Database includes Online Film Collections (incl. Art films, UTM Library's Asian Short Film Collection) 
  • Filmmakers Library
    • Collection of issues-based documentaries
  • Film Platform
    • "An innovative collaboration between leading filmmakers and film distributors from around the world bringing the finest documentary films to an academic audience. Our global selection of films includes many Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners."
  • Kanopy
    • "We stream thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials by partnering with public libraries and universities. Everyone from film scholars to casual viewers will discover remarkable and enriching films on Kanopy. Log in with your library membership and enjoy our diverse catalogue with new titles added every month."
    • NOTE: Titles are not available in LibrarySearch. Search within the Kanopy service by clicking the link above.
    • Toronto Public Library also offers Kanopy access with a library card (8 watch credits per month). The TPL collection contains different films from the UofT membership.
  • MyMedia Collection
    • A collection of films that have been purchased for various faculties and uploaded have been uploaded to the UofT MyMedia video streaming service.
  • NFB Campus - National Film Board of Canada
    • "Our Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians." Note, some films are labelled as ‘Campus’ and can only be viewed while on campus and connected to the U of T network.
  • New World Cinema
    • Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present
  • World Newsreels Online
    • Over 500 newsreels from 1929–1966
  • Silent Film Online
    • High-quality silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
    • Globally minded collection includes examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France, and complements its feature films with a selection of related documentaries.

Online Films for Viewing (Open Access)

A full list can be found at the bottom of the Media Commons Streaming Video page under the heading Freely Available Online Resources.

UofT Media Archives

Media Commons (MC) Media Archives contains different film formats, personal & business documents, images & more with a focus on film / video production, advertising, electronic & print journalism, broadcasting, photographic arts, & multimedia / music production. Several collections have special focus on Canadian media & popular culture.​ ​