Depending on the library and the collection, some games are available for home use in accordance with the library’s loan policy and some are not. Please consult the libraries' websites and/or library staff if you are unsure. Some of the largest collections are housed in Kelly Library, UTSC Popular Collection, and UTM Syd Bolton Collection (archival collection). 

Browsing collection(s) 

Using UTL LibrarySearch 

1. Type in “video games” in UTL search bar and click on the search button. 

   • Learn why quotations marks are important for searching

2. On the search results page, located the filters on the left and under Format, select Other 

Video Game Collections by platform

The follow searches will show results for all libraries. Use the filters on the left side to limit to specific locations. Materials at Robarts Library will require a hold request for pick up. 

• PS4 games 
• Xbox One games
• Nintendo Switch games
• Nintendo 3DS games

Searching for specific title(s) 

1. Type in desired game’s title in UTL search bar 

2. Under the Format filter, check of “Other”. 

Search tips:  

Filtering your Results 

• Format: Video games are categorized as “Other” in LibrarySearch. 
• Libraries: Robarts, UTM, UTSC, and Kelly Libraries have video games collections. 
• Subject
  • Limit to software platforms
  • Limit to genres of games
• Check the location in the item record. If a video game displays “course reserve” as its location, the loan period will be reduce to allow for course access. 
• Use "Subject" filter in advanced search for specific game titles

Jump to Top

Kelly Library, St. Michael's College

Kelly Library has a selection of video games and consoles. 

Borrowing Video Games 

• For information about borrowing, please visit their Services page / Loans Period, Renewals, and under Item Limits for audiovisual information.
• To learn more about accessing games, visit library service desk or Technology Loan page

Borrowing Consoles

• Gaming Consoles (Switch, PS4) are available from the library's front desk.
• Check the Gaming Consoles availability and loan period. 

UofT Scarborough Library (UTSC) Popular Collection

• Video games are part of their UTSC Popular Collection and must be borrowed onsite at UTSC.
• Loan period is 14 days with 1 renewal. 

UofT Mississauga Library (UTM) Syd Bolton Collection

UTM Library's Syd Bolton Collection is comprised of almost 14,000 video games and hundreds of consoles and systems, along with over 5,000 issues of game magazines, hundreds of books and literature, peripherals, and related technology, materials, and documents. It is one of the largest collections of its kind in the world and the largest known in Canada.

Access to the Collection

• This Special Collection may be accessed by submitting a research request form.

  • To see what consoles and games are available, consult the Syd Bolton Finding Aid. Note that games from the Bolton collection are not currently included in LibrarySearch.

• Once your request has been approved, schedule a visit to the UTM Library's Reading Room. Please review the visit process: the Bolton Collection does not circulate for borrowing but all games may be played onsite.

• UofT Transportation Tips (including UTM Shuttle) - Find information about the UTM Campus shuttle, public transportation like the TTC and Go Trains.

Jump to Top

Useful LibrarySearch queries:

• ("video game" OR "video games") AND theory
• ("video game" OR "video games") AND (“motion pictures” OR film OR cinem* OR movie)
• (video OR computer) AND (games OR game) 

Search by Subject Headings

Connect with Research Help

If you need further help in developing search strategies or accessing resources, take advantage of our various supports:

Jump to Top

Helpful resources for citing video games

Jump to Top