The library purchases access to various multidisciplinary collections, called library databases, that are not available for free on the internet. However, you can access them from the library website! Library databases are organized to help you efficiently search for information sources such as scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, magazines, reports, data, music, films, plays, and more.

Have topic in mind? Need to explore for inspiration? 

Learn how to use the following databases to access various type of resources (text, images, audiovisual) and successfully filter your results (e.g., format, year, language, and more). By understanding what these collections hold and how their search tools work, you will be able to connect with the best primary source materials for your cinema research. 

FIAF International Film Archives 

Searching Tips for FIAF Databases (IIFP & IITP) in OVID

• LIMITED to 3 users at a time. If you can't access it, return later when one of the 3 seats have opened up to new users.  
• This an OVID database which requires different search strategies so take a look at these search tips:  
  1. Search by one Subject Heading - OVID platform
  2. Search all fields by one Keyword  - OVID platform 
  3. Combine Searches - OVID platform 
  4. Video tutorials for searching in OVID (bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos)
• To access the resource, use GET IT UTL button on left side of record to access item through UofT Libraries
  • If you don't see a UTL link,  try to find an article by title in LibrarySearch 
  • Not available through UofT Libraries? Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request
• More details about FIAF Databases: 
  • OVID Advanced Search fields/options for FIAF Databases
  • OVID FIAF Database Guide