Skip to main content

National Cinemas

Finding Books - Mexico, Caribbean, Central & Latin America

Using the UTCat link below, enter subject headings, exactly as they appear, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu.

UTCat Browse/Subject Search:

  • Documentry films Latin America (brazil, argentina, etc)
  • Documentary films Social aspects Brazil History 20th century
  • Exploitation films Latin America History and criticism
  • motion picture industry mexico (brazil, argentina, etc)
  • motion picture producers and directors mexico (brazil, argentina, etc)
  • motion pictures latin america
  • motion pictures mexico (brazil, argentina, etc)
  • motion pictures political aspects latin maerica (brazil, argentina, etc.)
  • motion pictures social aspects latin america (brazil, argentina, etc.)

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

  • e.g., Meirelles Fernando, or Santos Nelson Pereira dos

If you prefer to browse the shelves, books about the cinemas (history, industry, etc.) of the following countries are shelved within the Call Number ranges indicated:

    • Argentinia - PN1993.5 .A8
    • Bolivia - PN1993.5 .B5
    • Brazil - PN1993.5 .B6
    • Chile - PN1993.5 .C37 and .C58 (Innis)
    • Colombia - PN1993.5 .C6 or .C7
    • Costa Rica - PN1993.5 .C78
    • Cuba - PN1993.5 .C8
    • Mexico - PN1993.5 .M4
    • Nicaragua - PN1993.5 .N537
    • Panama - PN1993.5 .P36
    • Peru - PN1993.5 .P4
    • Puerto Rico - PN1993.5 .P9
    • Venezuela - PN1993.5 .V4

  • Books about the cinemas of Mexico, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina and Chile predominate; both Innis and Robarts libraries have substantial holdings of books on the cinemas of these countries. There is far less written about other Latin American countries. Additional material can be found using Journal Article Databases (below), Google Scholar in particular. Innis Library's collection contains books written in English only; Robarts Library's collection is multilingual.

Journal Articles & Journals - Mexico, Caribbean, Central & Latin America

Interdisciplinary databases

  • Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content). Includes both books & journal articles. The vast majority of the books which will appear in your results list are available at UTLibrary. Search for any of these by title in UTCat.
    Search suggestion: enter cinema brazil in Search Box.
  • ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
  • JSTOR
  • Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals

Other articles

Bibliographies - Mexico, Caribbean, Central & Latin America

Dissertations - Mexico, Caribbean, Central & Latin America