Skip to main content

National Cinemas

Finding Books in UTCat - Japan

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the Subject Headings, exactly as they appear, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu:

UTCat Browse/Subject Search

Subject Headings

  • motion pictures Japan
  • japan in motion pictures
  • motion picture industry japan
  • motion picture producers and directors japan
  • national characteristics japanese in motion pictures
  • aesthetics japanese
  • modernism (aesthetics) japan
  • mizoguchi kenji (kurosawa akira, etc)

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

  • e.g., ozu yasujiro

Journal

Finding Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Reference - Japan

The Oxford handbook of Japanese Cinema EBOOK

Routledge handbook of Japanese culture and society. Ebook.

Japanese aesthetics and culture: a reader. Ebook.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film Enter japan in Search Box; perform a word search for "culture".

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers Overviews, bibliographies, filmographies on 37 Japanese directors.

Historical dictionary of Japanese cinema Print only; Robarts, Vic

Directory of World Cinema: Japan vol. 1; vol. 2 Ebook.

World Film Locations: Tokyo Ebook.

United States Occupation of Japan, 1945-1952 (Primary source)

  • SEE: Theater and Motion Pictures vol. 16, Files 1 and 2 in: History of the nonmilitary activities of the occupation of Japan / General Headquarters, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers [Tokyo : The Headquarters, 1951?] 55 v. : ill., maps.
    • Overview: Prepared in 1951 by the Civil Historical Section of General Headquarters, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP), this series of 55 monographs covers the nonmilitary activities of the U.S. occupation of Japan, from the end of the war in the Pacific to the signing of the Japanese peace treaty in September 1951. They present the official version of the social, political, and economic transformation of Japan following World War II. These monographs discuss such topics as: trials of Class "B" and Class "C" war criminals; local government reform; purging of militaristic elements; constitutional revision; legal and judicial reform; freedom of the press; theater and motion pictures; treatment of foreign nationals; reparations; promotion of fair trade; religion national and local government finance; money and banking; and foreign trade.

Document - Japan

Hiroshi Komatsu, “The Classical Cinema in Japan,” Oxford History of World Cinema [Ebook], pp. 413-422. ALSO AT: INNIS, ROBA, SMC, TRIN, VIC

Miscellaneous

M. Downing Roberts (ed.). Perspectives on Oshima Nagisa. University of Tokyo Center for Philosophy. 2015. EBOOK. Alternate version.