UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

Timeline Browse includes the following categories: Banking and Finance, Civil Rights, Education, Immigration, and Water

This collection also includes Certiorari Denied (Cert Denied), 1975–

Over 4,000 hours of telephone and meeting tapes in the White House capture some of the most significant moments in modern American political history.
In the summer of 1962, President John F. Kennedy (1961–1963) installed a secret taping system in the White House. His aim was to record meetings and conversations he considered important, probably intending to use them when he wrote the memoir of his years in office, a book he never had the chance to write.
Lyndon Johnson (1963–1969) and Richard M. Nixon (1969–1974) also secretly recorded many of their conversations.

The Collection includes U.S. Federal Government and U.S. States and Territories, as well as Native American Collection.

See DocsTeach: The online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives

[Cambridge University Press] PERIOD COVERED: ca.1600–2003
This consists of five volumes:
V. 1 POPULATION: migration (internal and international), family and household composition, and American Indians
V. 2 WORK and WELFARE: labor market variables, unions and work-related injuries, slavery, education, health, inequality and poverty, social insurance, and nonprofit entities.
V. 3 ECONOMIC STRUCTURE and PERFORMANCE: national accounts statistics and series of price indices, consumer expenditures, and savings and capital accumulation
V. 4 ECONOMIC SECTORS:agriculture, natural resource industries, construction, manufacturing, distribution (retail and wholesale trade), transportation, communications, and services and utilities
V. 5 GOVERNANCE and INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS: government-related activities: government employment and finances, elections and politics, crime and law enforcement, and national defense.

To find primary sources, explore the categories, such as American Studies, African American Studies, Asian American Studies, Civil War Studies, Colonial U.S. History, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies, Women's Studies, Military History, and Native American Studies.

[Gale] It offers primary sources for Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It also offers resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
PART I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450–1850
PART II: 1851–1914
PART III: 1890–1945
The collection includes more than 30 percent of the content in non-English languages.

[The University of Virginia Press] Rotunda
— The Adams Papers Digital Edition
— The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution
— The Papers of Alexander Hamilton Digital Edition
— The Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition
— The Dolley Madison Digital Edition
— The Papers of James Madison Digital Edition
— The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition
— Founders Early Access

This collection [Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society] includes, for example,
— French and Indian War Orderly Books consists of ten folders containing orderly books from seven different militia or regular army units under British command during the height of the French and Indian War (1755-1763).
— John A. Andrew Papers, 1772-1895 consits of 500 folders containing chronological volumes of correspondence, legal documents, memos, and miscellaneous records of prominent anti-slavery lawyer and Civil War governor of Massachusetts John Albion Andrew, dating from 1818-1867.

— Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880)
— Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896)
— Slavery and the Law (1775-1867)
— Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1
— Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2
— Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 3
— Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (1854-1870)
— Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877)

Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

— Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933
— Thomas A. Edison Papers (1850-1919)
— Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library (1861-1976)
— Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights (1872-1934)
— Progressive Era: Voices of Reform (1875-1945)
— Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers (1879-1924)
— Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
— Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969
— New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies (1933-1945)
— Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
— American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961
— FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972
— Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the anti-Vietnam War Movement (1958-1981)
— American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975)

— American Federation of Labor Records: The Samuel Gompers Era, 1877-1937
— Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO
— Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records
— Socialist Party of America Records

— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement
— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
NAACP (The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People)
— NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
— NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files
— NAACP Papers: Special Subjects
— NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
— NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
— African American Police League Records (1961-1988)

— U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944
— U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945
— World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence (1914-1920)
— Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
— World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees
— Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
— Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969
— Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969
— Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969
— Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

— Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
— Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
— Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

The following collections are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. They focus on the antebellum period through reconstruction, between 1850 and 1877.
— The University of Michigan Making of America Collection
— The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection

– American Memory: Remaining Collections

This collection includes primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War:
— The Eve of War: Fall 1859 to Spring 1861
— The War Years: Spring 1861 to Spring 1865
— The Aftermath: Spring 1865 to Fall 1870

[University of California]

Coverage: from 1690 to the recent past.
Contains 23 databases, such as African American Newspapers, Series 1, African American Newspapers, Series 2, Caribbean Newspapers, and Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971.
See the title list.

[ProQuest] It is part of a larger database, Global Newsstream.
US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Note: the photos are not often covered.

– July 8, 1889 - December 30, 1922
– January 1, 1923 - December 31, 2010

– December 6, 1877 - December 31, 1922
– January 1, 1923 - March 17, 1954

For example,
— The Arizona Republican, 1890–1922
— Atlanta Constitution, 1868–1984
— Austin American Statesman, 1871–1979
— The Baltimore Sun, 1837–1993
— The Boston Globe, 1872–1987
— The Chicago Tribune, 1849–1996
— The Christian Science Monitor, 1908–2005
— Cincinnati Enquirer, 1841–1922
— Dayton Daily News, 1898–1922
— Detroit Free Press, 1831–1999
— Hartford Courant, 1764–1993
— Indianapolis Star, 1903–1922
— Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934–2005
— Los Angeles Times, 1881–1994
— The Louisville Courier-Journal, 1830–1922
— Minneapolis Star Tribune, 1867–2001
— Michigan Chronicle, 1939–2010
— The Nashville Tennessean, 1812–1922
— Newsday, 1940–1990
— New York Tribune / Herald Tribune, 1841–1962
— Norfolk Journal and Guide, 1916–2003
— The Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860–1934
— Philadelphia Tribune, 1912–2001
— Pittsburgh Courier, 1911–2002
— Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 1786–2003
— San Francisco Chronicle, 1865–1922
— St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874–2003

— Binghamton Press (1904-1905, 1927-1960)
— Binghamton Press and Leader (1905-1927)
— Daily News (1920-2009)
— Democrat and Chronicle (1884-2009)
— Elmira Gazette and Free Press (1891-1907), Elmira Star-Gazette (1907-1963)
— The Evening Press (1960-1985), Binghamton
— Illustrated Daily News (1919-1919)
— The Ithaca Journal (1914-1919), Ithaca Daily News (1919-1919), Ithaca Journal-News (1919-1933)
— The Journal News (1998-2011), White Plains
— The Journal-News (1889-1990), Nyack
— Press & Sun Bulletin (1985-2009)
— Rochester Democrat and Chronicle (1871-1884), Binghamton
— Rockland Journal-News (1991-1998), Rochester
— Rockland Journal-News (1991-1998)
— Star-Gazette (1967-2011), Star-Gazette and Advertiser (1963-1967), Elmira

[ProQuest]
— Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003
— Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1986
— Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
— Cleveland Call and Post, 1934-1991
— Daily Defender, 1956-1975
— Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
— Michigan Chronicle, 1939–2010
— New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1994
— Norfolk New Journal and Guide, 1916-2003
— Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
— Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002

— The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, 1857–1922
— The American Israelite, 1854–2000
— The Jewish Advocate, 1905–1990
— Jewish Exponent, 1887–1990

— Series 1, 1691–1820
— Series 2, 1821–1837
— Series 3, 1838–1852
— Series 4, 1853–1865
— Series 5, 1866–1912

Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first published in 1910 in New York under the founding editorship of the Russian émigré journalist and writer Ivan Okuntsov, who served as editor until 1917.
Novoe Russkoe Slovo (New York) Sep. 04, 1925 – Nov. 12, 2010
Russkoe Slovo (New York) Apr. 02, 1917 – Jun. 30, 1920

PERIOD COVERED:
The Chronicle: 2015–present
EBSCO: Jan. 1999 to present (with a 30 Day delay)

[Library of Congress] You can also use https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/search/titles/.
America's historic newspaper pages from 1777–1963 are available.
The U.S. Newspaper Directory is also useful to find information about American newspapers published between 1690–present.

See All Digitized Newspapers in this collection.

— The Sun (1859 to July 2, 1916)
— The Sun and the New York Press (from July 3 to 30, 1916)
— The Sun (July 31, 1916 to January 31, 1920)
— The Sun and the New York Herald (February 1 to September 30, 1920)
— The Sun (2002 to 2008 via UTL)
— The Sun (Current)

The American Revolutionary War (1775-1783) was the culmination of an increasingly fraught relationship between the Thirteen Colonies of British America and the Colonial Government, which represented the British Crown.
Various primary sources include Pamphlets for the Years, 1763-1764, 1765-1766, 1767-1768, 1769-1770, ... 1783-1784.
Materials include Founding Father John Adams’ History of the dispute with America; From Its Origin in 1754.

Resource for U.S. public policy research. Information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.

This consists of documents created between 1767 to 1874 and includes not only his time as the 7th U.S. President (March 4, 1829 – March 4, 1837), but also other phases of his life (e.g., his military career, transactions as a landholder and Tennessee businessman, his personal life, and social controversies).

The consists of documents created between 1876 to 1924 and provides extensive documentation of Woodrow's presidential administration as the 28th U.S. President (March 4, 1913 – March 4, 1921) and the issues it confronted such as tariff policy, establishment of the federal reserve banks, and contentious relations with Mexico, in addition to his personal affairs.

The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American public broadcaster and television program distributor.

• African American Poetry 1760–1900
• American Drama 1714–1915
• American Poetry
• Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920 –
• Canadian Poetry
• Early American Fiction 1789–1850
• Early American Fiction 1789–1875
• Early English Prose Fiction
• Eighteenth-Century Fiction
• English Drama
• English Poetry
• English Poetry, Second Edition
• The Faber Poetry Library
• King James Bible
• MLA International Bibliography
• Nineteenth-Century Fiction
• Twentieth-Century African American Poetry
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry
• Twentieth-Century Drama
• Twentieth-Century English Poetry
• W.B. Yeats Collection

Subjects include: American History, Newsreels, Women's Studies, Women and Social Movements Library, LGBT Studies, and Religion and Thought
NOTE: "SAMPLE" videos are not included in our subscription.

— Clotel, or The President’s Daughter: A Narrative of Slave Life in the United States
— Emily Dickinson’s Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry
— Herman Melville’s “Typee”: A Fluid-Text Edition
— Journal of Emily Shore
— The Letters of Christina Rossetti
— The Letters of Matthew Arnold

The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement
— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
— Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
NAACP (The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People)
— NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
— NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files
— NAACP Papers: Special Subjects
— NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
— NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
— African American Police League Records (1961-1988)

Organizations include African American Police League, League to Improve the Community, Chicago Police Department, National Black Police Association, and so forth.
Categories include African American Police League topical files: black cultural affairs activities, League to Improve the Community programs: Community Education and Referral Service police brutality files, etc.

Topics include: The Transatlantic Slave Trade, Runaway Journeys, The Domestic Slave Trade, Colonization and Emigration, Haitian Immigration: q8th & 19th Centuries, The Western Migration, The Northern Migration, The Great Migration, The Second Great Migration, Caribbean Immigration, Return South Migration, Haitian Immigration: 20th Century, African Immigration.

[ProQuest]
— Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003
— Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1986
— Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
— Cleveland Call and Post, 1934-1991
— Daily Defender, 1956-1975
— Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
— Michigan Chronicle, 1939–2010
— New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1994
— Norfolk New Journal and Guide, 1916-2003
— Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
— Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Bodleian Library
The records include:
— A journal of the travels and ministry of the Reverend George Keith, 1702-1704
— Rev. Thompson's account of two missionary voyages
— Honolulu letters received, 1871-1910
— the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG) chaplaincy services to emigrants, 1821-1864