UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as other forms of visual culture.

This database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works of art that are part of the national collections and registered in the inventories of the museum’s eight curatorial departments, including Near Eastern Antiquities; Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities; Islamic Art; Paintings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Sculpture; Prints and Drawings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Decorative Arts.

Explore 749,495 items digitized from the New York Public Library's collections.

Discover 29,636,623 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States

The site indexes over 400.000 maps. The participating institutions includes: National Library of Scotland, Maps of Scotland, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Historical Topographic Maps, Land Survey Office Czech Republic, The David Rumsey Map Collection, British Library, Map Library, and more

Includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.

[Harvard Library] Places that are well represented include: America, Netherlands, England, France, Germany, and Japan.

Explore 58,246,083 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

[National Library of France] Provides access to printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans.

Search over 14.0 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 3.0 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

This online classical music library offers streaming access to more than 143,000 CDs with more than 2,223,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire.

Signing in the website allows you to watch concert recordings and interviews.

This online music encyclopedia, from Pre– and Early Medieval (before 800) to present, offers comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

An authoritative German-language music encyclopedia with in-depth articles on every aspect of music and many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts.

— Music Online: American Music
— Music Online: Jazz Music Library
— Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries