UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

This database has over 4,000 Ming (1368-1644) documents and 300,000 Qing (1644-1911) documents, including imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, Keju examination papers, documents of the Grand Secretariat Office, etc.

[Gale] The collection includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange. For example,
— Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Canton, China, 1790-1906; Hong Kong, 1844-1906; Macao, China, 1849-1869; Foochow, China, 1849-1906; Hankow, China, 1861-1906; Chefoo, China, 1863-1906; Chinkiang, China, 1864-1902; Chunking, China, 1896-1906; Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
— Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hakodate, Japan, 1856-1878; Kanagawa, Japan, 1861-1897
— British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905
— British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1914-1923: Emergence of Japan as a Pacific Power

The Collection includes, for example, China, Japan, Korea, North, and Korea, South.

Source Institution: Shanghai Classics Publishing House

SOURCE LIBRARY: National Archives (U.S.)
— Part 1: 1930-1939 covers political and governmental affairs; records on Bolshevism, fascism, Nazism, and socialism; issues relating to public order; military and naval affairs.
— Part 2: 1930-1939 covers social issues such as education, entertainment and communications; the public press; economy and industry; and other topics.
— Part 3: 1940-1944 covers the wartime relations between the United States and China, with emphasis on China's military position and U.S. efforts to give military assistance.
— Part 4: 1945-1949 covers politics, military affairs, economy and society, with separate files on provinces such as Manchuria, Yunnan, and Tibet and folders on narcotics, entertainment, motion pictures, and other topics.

SOURCE LIBRARY: National Archives (U.S.)
— China
— Japan
— Korea

[Alexander Street] Resources cover Chinese Revolution of 1911, Boxer Rebellion, 1899-1901, and so forth.

[Gale] SOURCE LIBRARY: the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library
Covers the Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals collection (1817-1949), Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949), Diplomacy and Political Secrets (1869-1950), and Hong Kong, Britain and China (1841-1951)

Source Institution: Shanghai Classics Publishing House

[East View] This database includes:
— STATISTICAL PUBLICATIONS:
China Statistical Yearbooks: 中国统计年鉴数据库 (1949 – present)
— NEWS MEDIA:
China Core Newspapers: 中国重要报纸全文数据库 (655 titles: 1981 – present)
— JOURNALS AND SERIAL PUBLICATIONS:
China Academic Journals: 中国期刊全文数据库 (1915 – present)
China Monographic Serials: 中国学术辑刊全文数据库 (1979 – present)
China Yearbooks: 中国年鉴网络出版总库 (1949 – present)

[Brill] Sources from C.V. Starr East Asian Library, Columbia University
In 1876 Japan "opened" Korea to outside contact, and subsequently sparred with China over the right of influence in Korea. This rivalry culminated in the Sino-Japanese war of 1894-95. After Japan's victory, the Japanese government steadily increased its presence and interference in Korean matters until finally, in 1910, the country was annexed outright. Korea remained a Japanese colony until the end of the Pacific war in 1945.
― Japanese publications on Korea
― Western (mostly English) early impressions of Korea, and
― Korean colonial-period literature

[Brill] This collection includes English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912.
See also The Peking Gazette: A Reader in Nineteenth-Century Chinese History

Part of Associated Press Collections Online (20th century)
Hanson's papers include personal and professional correspondence, typewritten reports of his time reporting on guerrilla fighters in China, handwritten notebooks, and more.

[Center for Research Libraries (CRL)] PERIOD COVERED: 1911–1949
The Collection includes, for example, 時事新報 (Shanghai), 實報 (Beijing), 華光日報 (Shanghai), 公評報 (Guangzhou), 蘇州明報 (Suzhou), and so forth.

ヨミダス歴史観: 1874—（明治・大正・昭和・平成・令和）
The Japan News: 1989—

聞蔵IIビジュアル・フォーライブラリー
It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 15 million articles and advertisements from more than 135 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (明治12年) to today.

Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper.
This database also includes the Japan Advertiser 1913 to 1940. Wilfrid Fleisher (1870-1946) owned the the Japan Advertiser from 1908 and 1940 until it was forced into selling out to the Japan Times in October 1940 (O’Connor, 2010, p. 233).

For the coverage, please visit データベース・コンテンツ詳細.

[Brill] Founded in Seoul in 1890 and published by the Office of the Resident-General (tōkan) 1906-10, then, post-annexation, by the Office of the Government General (Sōtoku) of Korea, the Seoul Press is the English-language newspaper of record for the Japanese protectorate then colony in Korea, 1906–1945. The mission was to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising and modernising force in East Asia. It represented the Japanese administration of Korea to the world. Missing from this collection includes the years 1910–1927.

PERIOD COVERED: 1993–December 31, 2013
The WNC was collected by U.S. intelligence from unclassified, open sources around the world and administered by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service. News include, for example,
— China (AFP, The Asia Sentinel, Boxun, China Internet Information Center, China National Radio, China Radio International, Guoji Xianqu Daobao, The Hong Kong Economic Journal, etc.)
— Taiwan (Central News Agency, The China Post, China Television Company, Government Information Office, etc)
— Japan (Gaiko Forum, Sankei Shimbun, Semiconductor FPD World, Tokyo Shimbun)
— South Korea (Chosun Ilbo, The Daily NK, Democracy Network Against North Korean Gulag, JoongAng Ilbo, NK Focus, etc.)

Find 標點古今圖書集成 (Gujin Tushu Jicheng: Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China) with punctuation marks on the left hand side of 臺灣學術經典.
古今圖書集成: the electronic version of the famous Chinese encyclopedia edited by Chen Meng-lei 陈梦雷 (1650-1741), a renowned scholar of the Qing Dynasty. This includes the most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture, from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty (1636-1912). Topics covered include astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more. It features full-text and full-image content, and is divided into 6 sub-collections and 32 categories.

The collection includes over 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Testimonies are from the Holocaust, the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence.

[Harvard Library] Most of the Chinese rare books have been digitized and are available online via Harvard-Yenching Library digitized version of Chinese Rare Books.

The collection was partially digitized. It covers various subjects including: astronomy and astrology, chronology, cookery, divinations and the interpretation of dreams, herbals, magic, medicine and the history of medicine, philosophy, and religion. The entire collection that includes prints comprises:
Far East: About 300 manuscripts and block printed books in: Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

This Encyclopedia focuses on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century.