It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections
This guide is created for scholars and students who do research projects in the Humanities and Social Sciences. It lists online resources that include primary sources and that the University of Toronto Library has purchased or subscribes to.
includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.
Provides a wide range of primary sources in American History, African Studies, British History, European History, Holocaust Studies, Indian and Pakistani History, LGBT Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Religious Studies, Russian History, Southeast Asian Studies, Women's Studies, and so forth.
You might want to search the collections via the UTL catalogue.
The collection consists of a digital collection of historical legal codes and similar statutory materials, as well as commentaries on codes from around the world, focusing on France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Canada, Argentina, Mexico, India, South Africa, Australia, and so forth.
It includes International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law, Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law.
Factiva aggregates current free and some licensed sources. For search tips, visit ProQuest's Factiva page. Please note that this academic account does not give us access to all Factiva's features or licensed sources. Images and photographs may not often offered.
— U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944
— U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945
— World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence (1914-1920)
— Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
— World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees
— Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
— Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969
— Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969
— Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969
— Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
Key features include:
— over 6,000 A-to-Z articles from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls to The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
— Six Oxford editions of the Bible, as well as the books Apocryphal New Testament and Apocryphal Old Testament and the entirety of Oxford Bible Commentary, with the ability to compare bibles and biblical commentaries
— Two concordances with special functionality: New American Bible Concise Concordance and Concise Concordance to the NRSV
— 5,000 A-Z reference entries, including content from the forthcoming Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible (2011)
— Materials providing visual, geographic, and social perspectives on biblical studies, including full-color maps and hundreds of illustrations
— Timelines of biblical rulers and biblical history and links to relevant content within the site
Volume I: literature and languages
— General: Canonicity, Tripiṭaka, Āgama/Nikāya, Vinayas, Abhidharma, Kanjur
— Mahāyāna Sūtra Literature
— Tantric Literature
— Nonscriptural: Commentary, Belles Lettres, Dramatic Works, Philosophical Literature, Ritual Texts, etc. Volume II:
Lives 1: Śākyamuni: South Asia & Barlaam and Josaphat
Lives 2: South & Southeast Asia, East Asia, China, Korea, Japan, and Tibetan Cultural Sphere
The series include, for example, Printing the Talmud: Complete Editions, Tractates and Other Works, and the Associated Presses from the Mid-17th Century through the 18th Century, which is a profusely illustrated major work describing the complete editions of the Talmud printed from about 1650 to slightly after 1800.
— Arabic: the Van Dyck Version After Eli Smith, an American Protestant missionary who moved to Beirut in 1834, died in 1857, the work was completed in 1865 under the direction of Cornelius Van Alen Van Dyck, also a American Protestant missionary in Beirut.
— Copic: the Old and New Testament in one of the Egyptian dialects, such as Sahidic or Bohairic.
— English: the King James Version - an English translation of the Christian Bible for the Church of England, commissioned in 1604 and completed as well as published in 1611 under the sponsorship of James VI and I.
— Greek: the revised edition of Henry Barclay Swete's texts (from 1901–7)
— Hebrew: based on The Westminster Leningrad Codex
— Latin: the Vulgate
Acclaimed by librarians, academics, and researchers alike, the Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination.