UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

Click Other Countries to see more documents, other than U.S., Canada, Germany, U.K., International Law and Organizations, and Special Focus Collections.

Source Institution: National Archives (U.K.) - Source Note: Foreign Office 371: Records of General Political Correspondence—Russia
This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.

---

Source Institution: Betty Miller Unterberger

[Adam Matthew] It encompasses the era of “The Great Game” — a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the West to the Pamir Mountains in the East. It comprised of correspondence, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts and other materials from the Foreign Office (FO) 65, FO 106, FO 371 and FO 539 series. Highlights:
— Material relating to early Soviet military takeover of Bukhara, and early Soviet relations with Afghanistan
— Letters from Russian Foreign Ministers, diplomats, and military officials
— Correspondence from national governments including Russia, Persia, Afghanistan and British India
— Russian activities and events in Afghanistan and on the North-Western Frontier

[ProQuest] Covers a collection of 1,911 documents, most of them recently declassified in the United States and Russia, documenting the transformation of U.S.-USSR relations in the period of Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev’s perestroika until the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

[Brill] Sources from National Library of Russia in St. Petersburg
― Russian-Ottoman Relations Online, Part 1: The Origins 1600-1800
― Russian-Ottoman Relations Online, Part 2: Shifts in the Balance of Power, 1800-1853
― Russian-Ottoman Relations Online, Part 3: The Crimean War (1853-1856)
― Russian-Ottoman Relations Online, Part 4: The End of the Empires, 1857-1914

[East View Information Services] PERIOD COVERED: 1998–present
The collection includes, for example,
— Knigi Rossii (formerly Knizhnaia letopis’): a reference guide available to Russian book publications. Also Available: The Knizhnaia letopis’ digital archive back to 1980.
— Statii iz rossiiskikh gazet (formerly Letopis’ gazetnykh statei): More than 40,000 bibliographic entries on documentary materials, articles, and works of fiction from every major newspaper in Russia.

from about 850 to 1110, originally compiled in Kiev around 1113

[Wilson Center: Digital Archive - International History Declassified]

[Brill] This unique collection contains complete runs of kopeck (penny) newspapers, the most widely circulated Russian newspapers in the beginning of the 20th century. The St. Petersburg Kopeika and Moscow Kopeika were read by lower-class readers, mainly newly literate migrants from the countryside or working people who had grown up in the city.

PERIOD COVERED: 1917–present
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Daily (240 per year) ⁞ City: Moscow
The database contains Federal and Moscow editions of Izvestiia. The Moscow issues are marked with a letter "m" after each issue number.

PERIOD COVERED: 1960–1999
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Weekly (52 per year) ⁞ City: Moscow (USSR)
Established in 1960, Nedelia (Неделя, The Week) began as a Sunday supplement to Izvestiia under the editorship of Aleksey Adzhubey, the son in law of the Soviet leader Nikita Khrushchev. At the height of its popularity Nedelia claimed up to two million copies in weekly circulation and was available for distribution only through newspaper kiosks on Sundays, eschewing the traditional subscription model.

PERIOD COVERED: 1918–2019
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Daily (240 per year) ⁞ City: Moscow (Russia)
Gudok is a Russian daily newspaper in continuous publication since 1917 and is one of the oldest and leading trade newspapers in Russia.

PERIOD COVERED: 1912–present
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Daily ⁞ City: Moscow
Pravda (Truth) was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991.
Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.

(Слово Кыргызстана, Word of Kyrgyzstan)
PERIOD COVERED: 1925–2020
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Varies ⁞ City: Bishkek
Established in 1925 in what was then the Kara-Kirghiz Autonomous Oblast in the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR), Slovo Kyrgyzstana served as the official party organ of the Central Committee of the Kirghiz SSR throughout its Soviet existence. It has been published independently since it gained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.

PERIOD COVERED: 1929 - only eight issues were published.
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Daily ⁞ City: Moscow (USSR)
Rabochii i iskusstvo is a predecessor of the important Russian weekly newspaper Kul'tura.

PERIOD COVERED: 1930–2014
Language: English ⁞ Frequency: Weekly ⁞ City: Moscow
Russia's oldest English-language newspaper
The Moscow News digital archive also includes issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932–1938).

PERIOD COVERED: 1949–present
Language: English ⁞ Frequency: Weekly ⁞ City: Minneapolis
The Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.
Along with general news articles, The Current Digest carried translations of all important documents of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union and the Soviet government.

PERIOD COVERED: 1980–present
The UDB-COM collection provides same-day full-text access to more than 60 of the most influential daily and weekly Russian publications on current affairs, including news magazines: for example, Argumenty i fakty, Argumenty nedeli, Ekonomika i zhizn’, Ekran i stsena, Ekspert, Finansovaia gazeta, Gudok, Izvestiia, Kommersant, Komsomol’skaia pravda, Kul’tura, Literaturnaia gazeta, Literaturnaia Rossiia, and The Moscow Times.

PERIOD COVERED: 1922–present
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Varies ⁞ City: Moscow
Krokodil (Crocodile) was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. It was first published as the illustrated Sunday supplement for Rabochii (The Worker) newspaper on June 4, 1922. Published continuously until 2008, circulation of Krokodil peaked at around 5.8 million (in 1980) and it was firmly established as one of the leading publications in the Soviet Union.

PERIOD COVERED: 1926–present
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Monthly ⁞ City: Moscow
Voprosy Istorii was first published under the title Istorik-Marksist (Marxist Historian, 1926-1941), then Istoricheskii Zhurnal (History Journal, 1937-1945) and finally under the present title (since 1945).

PERIOD COVERED: 1931–2000
Leading journal of Russian cinema critics. Publishes reviews of contemporary Russian and foreign movies, articles on history and theory of Russian and world cinema as well as general essays on Russian culture and arts.

(Литературная газета, Literary Newspaper)
PERIOD COVERED: 1997–present
Language: Russian ⁞ Frequency: Weekly (52 per year) ⁞ City: Moscow
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the “father of Soviet literature,” writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia’s cultural heritage.

Standalone Serials (UDB-IND)
PERIOD COVERED: 2009–present
Journal of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia offers analysis of foreign policy and international security issues. Published in English by East View Information Services.

PERIOD COVERED: 1846–1918
Language: Russian old script ⁞ Frequency: Daily (360 per year) ⁞ City: Tiflis (Tbilisi) ⁞ Country: Russian Empire
The newspaper Kavkaz (Кавказ, The Caucasus) was published during 1846-1918. It was the first Russian-language newspaper in the Caucasus, published in Tiflis (Tbilisi), Georgia.
The main purpose of the newspaper was, on the one hand, to promote the Russian culture and Russian influence in the Caucasus, and on the other hand “to acquaint the Russian public with the life, habits and traditions of the tribes populating the province of the Caucasus.”

PERIOD COVERED: 1997–present
Language: Ukrainian, Russian, English ⁞ Frequency: Varies
The Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR) collection is devoted exclusively to newspapers, journals and bibliographic titles published in Ukraine. The collection covers Ukraine’s progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. Also included, the Ukrainian Book Chamber’s editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description.

PERIOD COVERED: 1997–present
Language: Russian, English, Estonian, Ukrainian, Belarusian ⁞ Frequency: Varies
UDB-EUR contains official and independent newspapers and journals, covering current events, politics, economics, science, culture, public life, and more.

PERIOD COVERED: 1998–present
Language: Russian, Tajik, Turkmen, Uzbek, English ⁞ Frequency: Varies
UDB-CAC includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union.

---

PERIOD COVERED: 1993–December 31, 2013
The WNC was collected by U.S. intelligence from unclassified, open sources around the world and administered by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service. News include, for example,
— Russia (Anatolia, Bianet, Cihan News Agency, Dicle News Agency, Hurriyet, Hurriyet, Milliyet, Sabah, Turkish Daily News, Zaman)
— Ukraine (Black Sea Television, Holos Ukrayiny, Intelnews, Narodna Armiya, Ukrayina Moloda, Ukrayinska Pravda, UNIAN, Uryadovy Kuryer)
— Kazakhstan (Ekspress-K, navi.kz, Novoye Pokoleniye, Zhas Alash)

Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first published in 1910 in New York under the founding editorship of the Russian émigré journalist and writer Ivan Okuntsov, who served as editor until 1917.
Novoe Russkoe Slovo (New York) Sep. 04, 1925 – Nov. 12, 2010
Russkoe Slovo (New York) Apr. 02, 1917 – Jun. 30, 1920

A weekly literary-illustrated magazine. The founding editor of the magazine Miron Mironov was a prominent Russian émigré journalist. The journal was full of photographic and other illustrated content. The target demographic of the journal, meanwhile, was the growing community of Russian emigres in France and elsewhere serving to the cultural and literary needs, and their curiosity about the country they had left behind in the wake of the Bolshevik Revolution.

[Brill] Sources from The National Library of Russia, St. Petersburg
This collection contains many rare and intriguingly obscure books, as well as well-known and critically acclaimed texts, almanacs, periodicals, literary manifests. Among the groups included are the Ego-Futurists and Cubo-Futurists, the Imaginists, the Constructivists, the Biocosmists, and the infamous nichevoki - who, in their most radical manifestoes, professed complete abstinence from literary creation.