Research Guides: UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections: ☆ Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Women

The Periodical Series: This segment represents about 25 percent of the material in the database. It comprises 265 titles, including The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).

Monograph Language Series: These 4,471 monographs and pamphlets make up about 75 percent of the collection. Included are 2,336 titles tracing suffragism in the English-speaking world. The collection will soon include 929 German titles that document the history of organized movements in Germany and Switzerland, and 734 French titles that cover women's issues from Gallic times through World War II. Another 472 titles representing 12 languages will also be available.

Archives Direct: Women in The National Archives, 1559–1995
Women's Studies, 1662/1740–1960
Women and Social Movements Library
[Alexander Street] It contains:
— Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
— Women and Social Movements, International – 1840-2010
— Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820
[AM Scholar] Literary Studies, 18th and 19th centuries in UK and US
Church Missionary Society Archive, 1799–1959
The Making of Modern Law Series: Legal Treatises, 1800–1926
[Gale] Legal Treatises comprises over 21,000 works on British Commonwealth and American law: for example,
— The Rights of Married Women (Whenever Married) in Their Property, under the Act of 1882, London
— Importing Women for Immoral Purposes: A Partial Report from the Immigration Commission on the Importation and Harboring of Women for Immoral Purposes (1909), U.S.
— Laws Affecting Women and Children in the Suffrage and Non-suffrage States (1917), New York
— Legal Recognition of Industrial Women (1919), New York
— Women under English Law (1925), London
Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, 1835–1976
ProQuest History Vault: Women's Studies
Women's Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities
[Gale] PERIOD COVERED: 19th and 20th centuries
Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch. It covers, for example,
— Women and Health/Mental Health
— Grassroots Feminist Organizations
— The Women Missionaries Collection from the 1880s to the 1950s
— The Women Pioneers Collection
— Women and Law
— Committee of Fifteen
— European Women’s Periodicals from 1840 to 1940:
These periodicals from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany and German language issues from Paris and Prague, the Netherlands, Dutch Indonesia, Switzerland.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family, 1859–2007
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912–1990
Women: Transnational Networks
Women’s Magazine Archive
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents, 1898-1958
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital
The Collection includes Islamic Law, Judicial (1962—72, Muslim marriage and divorce law reports 4v.) and Treatises.

Some examples ▼ ▼ ▼ from Gale Gale Archives Unbound ➤ ➤ Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies

North American Women's Drama

Freely accessible online collections

South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)
[JSTOR] SAOA's collection contains books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents.
Four curated collections are Caste & Social Structure, Literature, Social & Economic History, and Women & Gender.
There are 13 languages represented in this collection: e.g., English, Bengali, Tamil, Urdu, Hindi.
Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran Digital Archive
Women Working, 1800-1930
Frances Willard Digital Journals, 1855–1896

Gender Identity and Gender Roles

Freely accessible online collections

Studies in Scarlet: Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914

Sex & Sexuality

Sex & Sexuality, Late 19th - 20th century
[Adam Matthew]
— Module I focuses on sexology and the work of sex researchers, combining advice sought by members of the public with the corresponding answers, thoughts on research proposals and work sent by academics and medical professionals to the Kinsey Institute, Indiana.
— Module II covers LBGTQI+ individual personal histories from the late-19th century to the present day, , sourced from archives in the US, UK and Australia.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
[Gale]
— PART I: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
— PART II: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
— Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century
— International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
– – Gay and Lesbian Memory in Action (GALA), Johannesburg, South Africa
– – Australian Lesbian and Gay Archives, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
– – Lesbian Herstory Archives, Brooklyn, New York
— L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
Case Studies: Intersectional LGBTQ Issues Collection, 1950s–
[Gale]
— Anti-Cross-dressing Laws
— Lesbian Cross-Dressing
— FBI Surveillance of LGBT Organizations
— HIV Immigration Ban
— LGBTQ Employment Discrimination
— National Gay and Lesbian Task Force — Anti-Violence Project
— Robert Rosenkrantz Letters
— The Rainbow Curriculum
— The Wolfenden Report
— “Stop the Church”: ACT UP’s Protest

Human Rights and more

Newspapers & Other Periodicals

Literature, Videos, and Images

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels Series