UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

The collection includes over 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Testimonies are from the Holocaust, the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.

[Yale University] 4,400 testimonies
The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators.
Visit How to Connect to the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

Contains Film Platform (Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners, etc), National Theatre Collection, World History in Video, and more.
Also includes Film Scripts Online Series

Canada’s public film producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) creates social-issue documentaries, auteur animation, and digital content, providing the world with a unique Canadian perspective.

Docuseek streams independent, social-issue and environmental documentaries to colleges and universities, providing access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Women Make Movies, Kartemquin Films, First Run Features, KimStim, First Hand Films, MediaStorm, Scorpion TV, Terra Nova Films, Viewpoint Productions, Film Movement, Deckert Distribution, The Films of Anand Patwardhan, etc.
Visit the subjects: e.g., African History, Black History, Islam, Judaism, India, Rape and Sexual Abuse, and Gay and Lesbian Studies.

The content is 100% Canadian Produced.

To access, click on the blue Web link in the catalogue record. Kanopy is an on-demand video streaming platform that offers access to films and documentaries. If the title that the UofT does not have is available via Kanopy, please contact your liaison librarian.

This list features links to free online streaming services used by International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) affiliates.

Co-founded in 2003 by Manon Barbeau, the Council of the Atikamekw Nation Youth Council and the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador, with the support of the Assembly of First Nations and the collaboration of the National Film Board of Canada, the launch of Wapikoni Mobile took place in 2004 during the Montreal First Peoples Festival.
Since then, Wapikoni Mobile travels to Aboriginal communities providing workshops for First Nations youth that allow them to master digital tools by directing short films and musical works. During each stopover, "mentor filmmakers" welcome and train thirty young participants during all stages of implementation.

Subjects include: American History, Newsreels, Women's Studies, Women and Social Movements Library, LGBT Studies, and Religion and Thought
NOTE: "SAMPLE" videos are not included in our subscription.

— Vols. I & II: Foundational Films
— Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
— Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives