UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

For example, Argentina, Brazil, Chile , Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua.

[British Online Archives] as a part of American Records in the House of Lords Archive, 1621-1917
Jamaican papers focus on the empire's treatment of that country and some of its expired laws. Other countries covered include Antigua, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Hispaniola, Saint Christopher and the West Indies.

Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues.
This collection consists of materials pertaining to political relations of states, including diplomatic and consular representation and bilateral treaties, conventions, and agreements for the following countries/regions: Argentine Republic, Bolivia, Brazil, Central America, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, and the West Indian Republics.

[Center for Research Libraries (CRL)] Brazilian Government Documents includes:
— Provincial Presidential Reports (1830–1930)
— Presidential Messages (1889–93)
— Ministerial Reports (1821–1960)
— Almanak Laemmert (1844–89)

Contributor: British Foreign & Commonwealth Office
For the most part these statistical records cover the years from 1839 to 1938, although some records commence from 1824 and others continue until 1950.
The records are grouped by nation/location: Antigua 1828-1887, Bahamas 1828-1939, Barbados 1839-1947, Bermuda 1836-1950, British Guiana 1868-1938, British Honduras 1839-1938, Dominica 1826-1887, Grenada 1860-1938, Jamaica 1836-1945, Leeward Islands 1889-1945, Montserrat 1830-1887, Nevis 1841-1882, St Christopher 1828-1886, St Lucia 1828-1938, St Vincent 1828-1938, Tobago 1824-1892, Tortola 1839-1842, Trinidad 1873-1901 Trinidad and Tobago 1889-1938, Turks and Caicos Islands 1878-1891, and Virgin Islands 1843-1887.

[Gale] It offers primary sources for Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It also offers resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
PART I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450–1850
PART II: 1851–1914
PART III: 1890–1945
The collection includes more than 30 percent of the content in non-English languages.

[Alexander Street] This platform includes Salvadoran Civil War (1979-1992) and Chile - Pinochet Regime (1973-1990) .

Resources cover Cuban Revolutions, 1898, Cuban Revolution and Fidel Castro Regime, 1953-2011, and so forth.

SOURCE INSTITUTION: National Archives, U.S.
This collection would detail both the political and financial machinations of the fruit companies, but also the graft and corruption of the national government, the American banking community's loans, the U.S. government's response and the various aborted popular/revolutionary uprisings. The largest single group of records relates to Honduran political affairs; pertaining chiefly to the turbulent political situation and almost continuous revolutionary activity in Honduras. Included are discussions of boundary disputes and border troubles with EL Salvador, Nicaragua, and Guatemala and revolutionary movements originating from these neighboring countries and from Mexico.
★ Also visit Visualizing the Americas.

[Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM)]

[Wilson Center: Digital Archive - International History Declassified] Cuban documents about Havana's policy toward Southern Africa in the final fifteen years of the Cold War.

See the title list.
Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela.

See the title list.
Featuring titles from Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Venezuela.

PERIOD COVERED: 1993–December 31, 2013
The WNC was collected by U.S. intelligence from unclassified, open sources around the world and administered by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service. News include, for example,
— Brazil (Agencia Brasil, Agencia Estado, Agencia O Globo, CartaCapital, Inforel, Jornal da Tarde, Jornal do Brasil, O Estado de Sao Paulo)
— Cuba (AIN, CubaNet News, Cubavision, Granma, Juventud Rebelde, La Nueva Cuba, payolibre.com, Prensa Latina, Radio Rebelde)
— Mexico (El Economista, El Financiero, El Norte, El Universal, Milenio TV, Nucleo Radio MIL, NOTIMEX, Reforma, XEIPN TV)

Part of The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
The collection provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807–1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

The countries include Bahamas, Chile, Ecuador, and Mexico.
A considerable number of Mexican newspapers largely from the 19th & early 20th centuries are also included.

This collection includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements.
SOURCE LIBRARY: La Fundación San Telmo

[ProQuest] More than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions.
Among the authors featured are Wilson Harris, Kwane Dawes, Lorna Goodison, Cyryl Dabydeen, Earl Lovelace, Samuel Selvon, Derek Walcott, Corly Verlooghen, Diana Lebacs, Hubert Booi, Maryse Condé, André Paradis, Phillipe Thoby-Marcelin, José Martí, Julian de Casal, José de Diego, and Salomé Ureña de Henríquez.
Languages vary: Papiamento, French Creole, Jamaican Creole, Belizean Kriol, Singlish, and Sranam Tongo. Translations of major works, dictionaries, and reference materials are included.

[British Online Archives] as a part of American Records in the House of Lords Archive, 1621-1917
Commencing with details of transportation and the slavery that followed it, these papers then cover the enslavement of people from Africa and the West Indies.

Contributor: Bodleian Library, British Library, and others
This collection explores and offers varying perspectives on the explosive debate around the Transatlantic Slave Trade during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.
— Correspondence from Planters and Traders, 1694-1776
— Official Reports on the Conclusion of the Slave Trade in Africa, 1811-1865
— Anti-Slavery Papers, 1833-1892
— Records from the Slavery Business, 1692-1849
— Jamaican History, 1658-1792

[British Online Archives] as a part of 'Bray Schools' in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900
BRAY/BAHAMAS These items focus on the Associates' school at Nassau in New Providence. The correspondence includes that from high-ranking figures such as Lord Dunmore, the Governor of the Bahamas and Archdeacon Jefferson.

[British Online Archives] as a part of Colonial Missionaries' Papers from America and the West Indies, 1701-1870

Contributor: Bodleian Library
This collection contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. From the 18th to the early 20th century, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection contains letters, reports, and supplementary material relating to missionaries in the West Indies during the period 1704-1950.
This archive contains information on the West Indies from the perspective of its Anglican missionaries. Included are documents relating to the Bahamas, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad, Antigua, Nevis, and Montserrat.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: South American Missionary Society
Includes most of the material held in the SAMS archives for the period up to 1919. When originally founded in 1844, this Church of England-affiliated organisation was called the Patagonian Mission. This collection reproduces the minute books, reports from the mission field, articles and photographs on the geography, anthropology, natural history and economic development for the society's magazine, launched in 1867, as well as the journals of its Anglican founder, Captain Allen Gardiner, and two others of its missionaries, Edward Bernau and Adolfo Henriksen.

[British Online Archives] as a part of Prison Ship Records from the War of 1812