This guide is created for scholars and students who do research projects in the Humanities and Social Sciences. It lists online resources that include primary sources and that the University of Toronto Library has purchased or subscribes to.
Independent India's first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation.
PERIOD COVERED: 1650-1942
— Colonial Discourses Series 3: Colonial fiction, 1712-1933
— Curzon, India and Empire
— The Empire Writes Back Part 1: Indian views on Britain and Empire, 1810-1915, from the British Library, London
— India during the Raj: Eyewitness Accounts
— India in the Age of Empire: The journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
— Indian Newspaper Reports, c. 1868-1942
[Adam Matthew] PERIOD COVERED: 17th - 19th century
This collection weaves the story of India and Empire through the writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters.
[British Online Archives] Contributor: National Library of Scotland
This collection covers the Viceroys of both Lord Curzon and Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound in the British Raj between the period of 1899 and 1910.
The collection demonstrates how Britain tried to maintain and control its most valuable colonial asset in the face of rising resistance and anti-colonial nationalism. It includes: Selection from the non-Indian papers, Printed papers from Lord Curzon's administration 1899-1905, Printed papers from the 4th Earl of Minto's administration, Correspondence 1905-1914, and Miscellaneous papers 1905-1919.
[Coherent Digital] Materials on the Indian sub-continent dating from the mid-18th to the mid-20th century.
Themes include independence, crime, riot and resistance, print and the production of culture, religious and moral discourse, colonial knowledge and colonial governance, construction of colonial development, and gender and society in colonial India.
— Journals: Substantial runs of more than two hundred journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals, such as Asiatic Researchers (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review, and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals.
— Reports: A diverse collection of reports from colonial and post-colonial India, including volumes of the 1901, 1911, 1931, and 1951 Indian Census documents, and the near complete set of Calcutta Riots of 1946 Gazetteers from a range of Indian states, such as Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharastra are also available.
— Books: An extensive range of books consisting of series, such as The Bibliotheca Indica, a collection of oriental works published by the Asiatic Society of Bengal. It includes translations of the Upanishads, commentaries on Sanskrit grammatical, philosophical, and legal treatises, and such works as the Suddhikaumudi, a Sanskrit treatise on Hindu laws of defilement and purification.
— Legislations, Acts, regulations, law books/cases: A myriad collection of legislations, Acts, regulations, and case documents from the colonial period, invaluable for any work on colonial Indian history.
— Indian film booklets, 1930–1949: A collection of rare publicity booklets in a mixture of English, Hindi, Urdu, and Bengali, as sold outside India film theaters. Highlights from the collection include: Mukti, Street Singer, My Sister, Devdas and Sita. Each booklet includes lists of the film's cast and leading technical personnel, a plot summary, photographs of the lead actors or key moments in the film, and song lyrics.
Topics Asian Studies include:
U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs, The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933, Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949, and Western Books on Southeast Asia.
[British Online Archives] Contributor: India Office Library
This collection contains copies of three English language newspapers published in India during the period 1782–1908: The India Gazette (1782–1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822–1866); and The Bengal Times (1876–1908).
These newspapers were primarily sold to colonial businessmen, merchants, and administrators with an interest in regional and international trade. Editors and reporters therefore focused on providing readers with an overview of significant political, military, economic, scientific, and societal trends, as well as their potential impact on stocks, commodities, and other investments.
PERIOD COVERED: 1993–December 31, 2013
The WNC was collected by U.S. intelligence from unclassified, open sources around the world and administered by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service. News include, for example,
— India (The Asian Age, Chemical Weekly, The Daily Excelsior, Daily News and Analysis, Deccan Herald, Defence Science Journal, Dinamani, Force, etc.)
— Pakistan (Afghan Islamic Press, Akhbar-e-Jehan, Al-Akhbar, Business Recorder, The Daily Jasarat, etc.)
— Bangladesh (The Daily Inqilab, The Daily Star, Holiday, Narinjara, Prothom Alo, Radio Bangladesh, etc.)
[Alexander Street] These collectors’ bodies of work contain some of regional music on record, including Nazir Ali Jairazhboy's lifelong research documenting the diversity of musical styles and genres across India and Pakistan.
The collection was partially digitized. It covers various subjects including: astronomy and astrology, chronology, cookery, divinations and the interpretation of dreams, herbals, magic, medicine and the history of medicine, philosophy, and religion. The entire collection that includes prints comprises: South Asia: About 9,000 manuscripts in most of the major Indo-Aryan languages including: Hindi, Malayalam, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sinhalese, Tamil, and Urdu.
[Brill] Sources from Gujarat United School of Theology, Ahmedabad
This collection includes:
― Monographs printed by the Irish Presbyterian Mission Press in Surat, India.
― Monographs printed by other mission presses in India.
― Monographs printed outside India and relevant for research purposes.