UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

[British Online Archives] Contributor: British Foreign & Commonwealth Office
This collection provides sources to explore colonial laws, administrated by the British, in 10 different African countries from the abolition of slavery to the end of the First World War.
— Kenya, 1899-1919
— Nigeria (Lagos), 1887-1919
— Zambia (Northern Rhodesia), 1899-1919
— Malawi (Nyasaland), 1899-1919 & Malawi (Nyasaland) Gazeztte, 1911-1912
— Sierra Leone, 1808-1919
— Ziombabwe (Southern Rhodesia), 1894-1919
— The Gambia, 1883-1919
— Ghana (Gold Coast), 1876-1919
— Uganda, 1908-1919
— Tanzania (Zanzibar), 1892-1919

This collection provides the opportunity to explore the laws implemented by successive British government in eleven African countries from January 1920 to December 1945. Countries are Kenya, Lagos (Nigeria), Northern Rhodesia (Zambia), Nyasaland (Malawi), Sierra Leone, Southern Rhodesia (Zimbabwe), The Gambia, Gold Coast (Ghana), Uganda, Zanzibar (Tanzania), and Tanganyika (Tanzania).

Contributor: British Foreign & Commonwealth Office
This collection covers the period from January 1946 to December 1966.
During the 19th and 20th centuries the British government published gazettes on an annual basis. These outlined the colonial laws prevailing in its African territories. These include: Basutoland (Lesotho), Kenya, Lagos (Nigeria), Northern Rhodesia (Zambia), Nyasaland (Malawi), Sierra Leone, Southern Rhodesia (Zimbabwe), The Gambia, Gold Coast (Ghana), Uganda, Zanzibar (Tanzania), and Tanganyika (Tanzania).

For example, Nigeria, Ghana, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Democratic Republic), Rwanda, Algeria, Kenya, and South Africa.

[British Online Archives] as a part of American Records in the House of Lords Archive, 1621-1917
These items include records from the incorporation of the Royal African Company, petitions from that company and reports from them upon the condition of various settlements, including forts.

SOURCE LIBRARY: National Archives (U.S.)
— Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910–1929
— German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910–1929
— French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910–1930
— Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930–1939

Throughout the period covered by this collection Ghana and Togo were known as the Gold Coast and British Togoland.
This collection is divided into the following categories: Administration 1846-1956, Finance 1895-1956, Judicial and Police 1895-1956, Natural Resources 1889-1957, Social Services 1886-1956, Transport and Public Works 1895-1956, Communications and Post Office Savings Bank 1895-1956. Commerce 1889-1956, Staff Lists 1896-1957, Miscellaneous 1895-1956, and British Togoland 1920-1955.

Beginning near the end of the nineteenth century with the formation of Gambia as a British colony and protectorate, this collection tracks the wide-ranging administrative duties of various governmental departments within Gambia up until the country’s independence in the 1960s.
This collection is divided into the following categories: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural resources, Public Services, Communications and Financial Services, Trade, Co-operatives, and the Oil Seeds Marketing Board, and Population and Climate.
This collection is accompanied by an online guide to the microfilm edition by D. C. Dorward, Lecturer in African History, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia.

The government reports contained in this collection cover several important developments and events including the establishment of the Colony and Protectorate of Lagos, the First and Second World Wars, and the creation of the independent Nigerian state.
The collection is divided into the following categories: Administration 1899-1960, Finance 1904-1960, Judicial and Police 1899-1960, Natural Resources 1887-1960, Social Services 1893-1960, Transport and Public Works 1900-1960, Communications and Post Office Savings 1904-1960, Commerce 1899-1960, Miscellaneous 1900-1962, and British Cameroons 1920-1961.

The government reports contained in this collection cover several important developments and events in the 19th and 20th centuries, including the First and Second World Wars, social services during colonial governance, and Sierra Leone achieving independence in 1961.
The collection is divided into the following categories: Administrative Reports 1914-1961, Finance 1912-1961, Judicial and Police 1914-1961, Natural Resources 1893-1961, Social Services 1895-1961, Transport and Public Works 1908-1961, Communications and Post Office Savings 1914-1961, Commerce 1905-1961, and Staff Lists and Miscellaneous Content 1924-1961.

In the 1880s, Cecil Rhodes and the British South Africa Company started to make inroads into the region that is now known as Zimbabwe. In 1895 the British South Africa Company adopted the name “Rhodesia” for the area, as an honour to Cecil Rhodes. However, in 1898 the official name of the region became Southern Rhodesia. In October 1923, following a new constitution, Southern Rhodesia became a self-governing British colony.
The collection includes: Administration 1897-1977, Auditor General 1914-1980, Accounting Estimates 1899-1980, Miscellaneous Financial Records 1918-1980, Judicial and Police 1897-1979, Natural Resources 1897-1981, Social Services 1897-1980, Transport and Public Works 1897-1980, Communications and Post Office Savings 1896-1980, Commerce 1899-1980, Corporations and Boards 1926-1980, and Meteorology, Public Relations and Tourism 1897-1980.

Uganda was a colonial creation that was formed by joining the kingdoms of Buganda and Bunyoro. In 1894, Uganda became a protectorate of the British Empire and was thereby administrated by the British.
The collection is divided into the following categories: Administration 1909-1961, Finance 1929-1962, Judicial and Police 1912-1960, Natural Resources 1903-1961, Social Services 1908-1961, Transport and Public Works 1912-1961, Trade and Commerce 1910-1961, Development Corporation and Boards 1948-1961, and Miscellaneous Reports 1923-1961.

The government reports contained in this collection cover several important developments and events in 20th century Kenyan history, including the period that the country was controlled by the East Africa Colony, the Mau Mau uprising, and the achievement of Kenyan independence in 1963.
This collection is divided into the following categories: Administration 1924-1963, Finance 1910-1964, Police and Judicial 1918-1963, Natural Resources 1907-1964, Social Services 1920-1964, Transport and Public Works 1910-1964, Communications and Post Office Savings 1910-1963, Commerce 1917-1963, Corporations and Boards 1950-1964, and Miscellaneous 1907-1964.

The government reports contained in this collection cover several important developments and events in the 20th century, including the dissolution of the Central African Protectorate in 1907, the First and Second World Wars, and Malawi’s declaration of independence.
The collection is divided into the following categories: Administration 1931-1963, Finance 1911-1966, Judicial and Police 1917-1964, Natural Resources - Arable and Animal Husbandry 1909-1965, Natural Resources - Geology, Water and Power 1923-1964, Social Services 1907-1967, Transport and Public Works 1910-1964, Communications and Post Office Savings 1912-1964, and Miscellaneous 1917-1963.

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: British Foreign & Commonwealth Office
— Nigeria [Lagos] Blue Book 1863
— Cape of Good Hope Blue Book 1821
— Kenya Blue Book 1914
— Gold Coast Blue Book 1859

Part of Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online
The collection includes, for example,
— Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library, 1821-1922
— African Mail, 1845-1917
— Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Cape Town, Cape Colony, 1800-1906; Lourenco Marques, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1906; Gaboon, 1856-1888; Bathurst, Gambia, British Africa, 1857-1889; Grand Bassa, Liberia, 1868-1882; Goree Dakar, French Africa, 1883-1906; Boma, Congo, 1888-1895
— African World, 1905-1913
— 19th Century Travel Literature
Highlights of the collection include works on Africa from early British and French expedition accounts to early-twentieth-century colonial narratives and documents

[Alexander Street] The collection provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and genocide from 1900 to 2010. Primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event include: Rwanda, Tutsi Genocide (1994) and so forth.

[JSTOR] The collection focuses on the varies liberation struggles in the region during the Apartheid regime, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. The sub-collections consist of primary source materials focusing on colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, and international intervention. Materials include periodicals, pamphlets, UN documents, photographs, speeches, and many other resources.

[JSTOR] This collection includes: visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites. Spatial data include 3D models and plans of grounds, GIS landscapes, and digital video. Contextual data includes site-related research such as excavation reports, site plans, unpublished private and national archives, and traveller's accounts from the 17th to 19th century. Key sub-collections include the Heinz Rüther Collections and the Kilwa Archive.

[Coherent Digital] 619 organizations, many of which are from those in Africa, have contributed to building the collections, which include:
— Black South African Magazines
— History and Culture
— Southern African Films and Documentaries, from the 1900s to the early 2000s
Topics include highlights from each country, Sharpeville Massacre (March 21, 1960), The Black Sash, images of commemorative fabrics, AFS 560: Sexualities: African and Caribbean Perspectives, Southern African Film Studies, HIS 3460 – Islam in Africa, and so forth.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Kate Legum
Colin Legum (1919–2003) was a South African journalist and writer on African politics. Born in the rural farming town of Kestell, his worldview was shaped by the degrading poverty and racial injustice he witnessed in his hometown.
This collection contains a range of his writings and reports on twentieth century African politics. This includes material on Pan-Africanism, including on the Organisation of African Unity, articles documenting and attacking the Apartheid regime in South Africa, as well as an exploration of African politics against the backdrop of decolonisation and the Cold War.

[Wilson Center: Digital Archive - International History Declassified] Cuban documents about Havana's policy toward Southern Africa in the final fifteen years of the Cold War.

[Newsbank] This collection features 64 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before 1901.
See the title list.
Online access to ten newspapers published in Djibouti, Egypt, Ghana, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, and South Africa.

See the title list.
Online access to ten newspapers published in Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa.

The collection provides insight into this region during this critical time, featuring key newspapers from the region from the 1940s to the early 2000s. This growing collection currently includes three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).

PERIOD COVERED: 1993–December 31, 2013
The WNC was collected by U.S. intelligence from unclassified, open sources around the world and administered by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service. News include, for example,
— Kenya (Africa Review, Daily Nation/East African, East African Standard, KBC Radio, KBC Television, KTN Television, The People, UN Integrated Regional Information Network),
— Nigeria (Channels Television, Daily Trust, Gamji, The News, Newswatch, Radio Nigeria, Radio Rivers 2, Rhythm FM, Silver Bird Television, Vision FM, Voice of Biafra, etc.)
— Rwanda (Rwanda News Agency),
— Uganda (Chimpreports, The Monitor, The New Vision, The Sunday Vision)

[Center for Research Libraries (CRL)] PERIOD COVERED: from the late 19th century through the present
Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
Content in MENA Newspapers is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French, featuring titles such as Al-Iqbal (Lebanon), Al Akhaa al Watani (Iraq), Tangier Gazette(Morocco), and La Vérité (Algeria).

Ebony, a monthly magazine for the African American market, was founded by John H. Johnson. Johnson intended it to be a Black version of Henry Luce's Life magazine.
Featuring Black celebrities, Ebony has served as an influential African-American magazine promoting stories important to the black community and focusing on the achievements of African-American leaders. This magazine covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus.

This tells of a courtier's adventures after he flees Egypt. Other works include stories of fantastic wonders from the court of the builder of the Great Pyramid, a lyrical dialogue between a man and his soul on the nature of death and the problem of suffering, and teachings about the nature of virtue and wisdom, one of which is bitterly spoken from the grave by the assassinated king Amenemhat I, founder of the Twelfth Dynasty.

[ProQuest] The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.

[Alexander Street] These collectors’ bodies of work contain some of regional music on record, including Hugh Tracey’s survey of southern and central African music, the Sound of Africa Series (International Library of African Music, Rhodes University), and the Louis Sarno Archive, Music from the Central African Rainforest (Pitt Rivers Museum, University of Oxford).

The collection includes over 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Testimonies are from the Holocaust, the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.

[British Online Archives] as a part of American Records in the House of Lords Archive, 1621-1917
Commencing with details of transportation and the slavery that followed it, these papers then cover the enslavement of people from Africa and the West Indies.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Bodleian Library
This collection contains letters and supplementary material compiled by the organisation’s West African branches during the period 1700–1850. It includes the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone, and those of Rev. Phillip Quaque, the first African to be ordained a minister of the Church of England.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Bodleian Library
These documents contain: the progress of the mission; financial concerns; movements of people; and numbers of people who attended church.
The records are grouped by location: Capetown, Grahamstown, Natal, St John - Kaffraria, and Zuzuland.

SOURCE LIBRARY: Library of the Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia
Presbyterian mission work in Africa commenced in 1833 and throughout the l9th century expanded to several different areas therein. These included: Liberia, 1833-94; Corsico, 1850-75; Spanish Guinea, 1865-1924, 1932: Gaboon, 1871-92; Ogowe, 1874-92; and the Cameroon, 1889-1972.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Bodleian Library
— The 'Central Africa' magazine included descriptions of events that the missionaries had experienced. The Masasi Disaster is covered from image 7 of the 1883 edition; this was a conflict with the Wagwangwara tribe.
— Among the journals is that of Bishop Steere's between 1863 and 1868. These records name places that he passed through and describes native tribes that he heard of or saw, naming their leaders.
— The 'miscellaneous' items include the 'Dini' book of religious teachings which also describes Africans being maltreated by the German rulers of East Africa, and a Decree against slavery by the Sultan of Zanzibar in 1890.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Bodleian Library
The SPG’s mission was established at Cape Coast Castle in 1752 by Rev. Thomas Thompson. Thompson was succeeded by Rev. Philip Quaque, the first African to be ordained a priest of the Church of England. The mid-19th century saw a revival of Anglican missionary activity with the arrival of missionaries sent by the Mission of the West Indian Church to West Africa, an organisation that was based in Barbados.
The original letters from abroad cover West Africa from 1899 to 1933. They include Sierra Leone 1900–1933; Ghana 1903; Cape Verde 1904–1910; and St. Vincent 1907–1912.

[Adam Matthew] This collection includes
— African Missions
··· Papers of the Missions of the United Presbyterian Church from the National Library of Scotland
— African Missions, Education and the Road to Independence
··· The SUM in Nigeria, The Cameroons, Chad, Sudan, and Other African Territories
— Congo Mission Archives
··· The Papers of Bishop Ridsdale (1916-2000), Missionary to the Eastern Congo, from the Cambridge Centre for Christianity Worldwide