UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

[British Online Archives] as a part of American Records in the House of Lords Archive, 1621-1917
Containing copies and extracts of letters relating to the settlement of Nova Scotia, from the Secretary of State.

— The Government Publications collection includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. The collection includes
⚈ A selection of pre-Confederation official government publications produced by colonial legislatures, such as acts, legislative debates, legislative journals, and sessional papers
⚈ A selection of federal government documents published 1867-1900, such as acts, parliamentary debates, parliamentary journals, Royal Commission reports and sessional papers
⚈ Pre-1900 publications from France and Great Britain that relate to the governance of Canada, such as treaties, acts, bills, correspondence, British Parliamentary papers and reports
⚈ Civil service lists, 1885-1900
⚈ Pre-1900 official guides for prospective immigrants to Canada
⚈ Selected speeches from statesmen such as Sir John A. Macdonald, Joseph Howe, Charles Tupper, Henri Bourassa, and others

— Discover the Collection: Browse by Topic
— — Indigenous Heritage
— — Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990
— ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

This volume contains about 343 statistical tables on the social and economic conditions in Canada from the earliest settlements to Confederation and onto 1871. The results from 98 censuses are arranged in chronological order, with some explanatory notes.

Library and Archives Canada holds an extensive collection of Canadian census records from 1640 to 1926, and for Newfoundland from 1671 to 1945.

This Historical Collection consists of over 90,000 digitized issues from Statistics Canada titles from the 19th to the early 21st century that were originally published in print, including the Canada Year Book, the Daily, Canadian Social Trends, and the Consumer Price Index.

This contains Law Journal Library (Database).

The Collection includes Canada.

— The Monographs collection: The topics range from major historical events to the development of institutions, laws and science; from Canadian literature to philosophical treatises; from agriculture to politics, trade and tariffs. Monographs contains Canadian imprints (monographs and pamphlets) to 1920; in addition, selected works published outside the country, either by Canadian authors or relating to Canada, were included for digitization.
Titles in 47 different languages, including in 14 Indigenous languages.
— Serials: Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations.
Serials contains annuals up to 1900, periodicals up to 1920 and newspapers up to 1930.
— Government Publications
This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.
Selected speeches from statesmen such as Sir John A. Macdonald, Joseph Howe, Charles Tupper, Henri Bourassa, and others.
— Maps
The Maps collection currently contains nearly 22,000 Canadian maps digitized from the 1:50,000 scale National Topographic Series. The maps date from 1905 to 2012 and cover all of the Canadian provinces and territories.

This collection, a part of Canadiana Online, includes material published from the 1600s to the mid-1900s. Featured Collections include Genealogy, Aboriginal History, Government Documents, Military History, and Landmark Papers.

It houses a wide-ranging collection of unpublished archival records (such as diaries, letters, minute books, photographs, scrapbooks, speeches, membership lists, films, and sound recordings) for over 3,000 individuals, families, clubs, businesses, schools, and organizations in Calgary, southern Alberta and Western Canada. Areas of specialty include First Nations (especially Blackfoot), Mounted Police, pioneer life, ranching and agriculture, the petroleum industry, politics (especially the farmers' movement), labour and unions, women, the arts (especially theatre), and businesses.
Also visit the Glenbow Museum Archives Photographs Catalogue page.

Includes newspapers, images, and maps
Digitized by the University of Alberta Library (former page)

[Gale] It offers primary sources for Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It also offers resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
PART I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450–1850
PART II: 1851–1914
PART III: 1890–1945
The collection includes more than 30 percent of the content in non-English languages.

For example,
– Canada
– Fur Trade under Online Exhibitions
The transatlantic trade in fur developed with the first fishermen to visit what are now the Maritime provinces of Canada, exploiting the abundant cod stocks of the Grand Banks.

The countries include UK, USA, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.
A considerable number of Canadian newspapers largely from the 19th & early 20th centuries are also included.

This collection contains the archives of over 500 Canadian newspapers, such as Winnipeg Free Press, Lethbridge Herald, Brandon Sun, and Kingston Daily British Whig.

[ProQuest] It is part of a larger database, Global Newsstream.
Canadian Newsstream offers the full text of nearly 300 newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail. Note: the photos are not often covered.

― ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Toronto Star

— Windsor Star 1986–present
— The Windsor Daily Star 1959–2010
— The Windsor Daily Star 1935–1959
— The Border Cities' Star 1918–1935

This collection contains the archives of over 500 Canadian newspapers, such as Winnipeg Free Press, Lethbridge Herald, Brandon Sun, and Kingston Daily British Whig.

—  Ontario Community Newspapers Portal [The OurOntario.ca - OurDigitalWorld]
—  INK [the list is available here].
The coverage among the communities varies, but can include:
‣  News article indexing,
‣  Births, Marriages and Deaths (BMD) indexing, and clippings
‣  Full page/issue access

— The BC Historical Newspapers [University of British Columbia Library]
Features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Mirror, date from 1859 to 1995.
— The British Colonist [University of Victoria]
The collection contains all the issues of The British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, The Daily Colonist, and other variants) from its first issue in 1858 to December 1950.
— The Bill Silver Digital Newspaper Archive
‣  The Vanderhoof Herald: 1917-1920
‣  Nechako Chronicle: 1920-1983
‣  Omineca Express: 1982-1989 and 1991-2007
— Prince George Digital Newspaper Collection [Prince George Public Library]
— Eleanor Muehle Newspaper Archive [BC History Digitization Program]
— Qiesnel Cariboo Observer [Quesnel and District Museum and Archives]
The Cariboo Observer began publication on August 29th 1908 in Quesnel, B.C., serving the communities of Ashcroft, Quesnel and Barkerville.

— Peel's Prairie Provinces [University of Alberta]
➤ ➤ New Peel's Prairie Provinces site
➤ ➤ Original Peel's Prairie Provinces site
— Early Alberta Newspapers [University of Calgary Libraries]

— Saskatchewan Historic Newspapers Online (SHNO) [Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan]
The project when completed will see the digitization of newspapers from all across Saskatchewan from 1878 through to the mid 1960s.

— UM Digital Collections - Manitoba - Newspapers [University of Manitoba Libraries]
includes Manitoba Free Press, Winnipeg Daily Sun, Le Manitoba, etc.

— Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
This collection gives access to the following newspapers: L'Action catholique, Le Canada, Le Canadien, Le Courrier de St-Hyacinthe, Le Devoir, L'Étoile du Nord, La Minerve, La Patrie, La Presse, Le Petit journal and Le Soleil.
— Le Devoir, 1902—1998 [Google]

The University of New Brunswick Libraries indexes the newspapers and includes the link to Canadiana by CRKN and Google News Archive when digitized newspapers are available.

— Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers [Province of Nova Scotia]
The site offers sixteen different newspapers published in eight very different Nova Scotia communities over a span of 230 years — from The Nova Scotia Chronicle and Weekly Advertiser in 1769, to Le Courrier de la Nouvelle-Écosse in 2002.

— Newfoundland Newspapers [Memorial University of Newfoundland - Digital Archives Initiative]

The collection includes Croatian, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Polish, Serbian, Ukrainian, Serbo-Croatian, Latvian, and Lithuanian newspapers.

— Chinese Times Newspaper
— SFU Digitized Newspapers (other than the Chinese Times)
— SFU Digitized Collections

The English-language clippings are from the archive of the century-old Hamilton Spectator newspaper, while the French-language materials are from a collection of the newspaper Le Devoir.

Online and Print at UTM

Nunatsiaq News is the newspaper of record for Nunavut and the Nunavik territory of Quebec. It has been published since 1975.

Print at UTM
The Two Row Times is a free weekly news publication aimed at reaching the Ontario-wide Native market as well as Haudenosaunee communities in the United States.

Online Access via UTL and Print at UTM
Published every week at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.

Online Access via UTL and Print at UTM
Windspeaker.com is owned and operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta (AMMSA), an Indigenous communications society dedicated to serving the news and information needs of Indigenous people throughout Canada. A monthly publication was first published in 1983, and incorporated in 1983 under the Alberta Societies Act, AMMSA has steadfastly maintained its commitment to the quality of its products and its people.

Print at UTM
Since 1984, our Yellowknife-based magazine has chronicled northern travel, culture, nature, and arts from across the territories with award-winning writing and spectacular photography.

— Alberta Law Collection
— Local Histories
— Medical History

[British Online Archives] as a part of 'Bray Schools' in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900
BRAY/CANADA These documents contain information ranging from the more day-to-day business of which subjects children are taught to the formation of new schools itself. Locals' opinions on the schools and the conditions under which local black people lived are also discussed, as are the repercussions of an outbreak of measles. The schools discussed are located in Digby, Skelbourne and Hammonds plains.

[British Online Archives] Contributor: Bodleian Library
The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. During the 18th, 19th, and early-20th centuries, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG).
USPG C series records are divided by area: Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Fredericton, Quebec, Montreal, Upper Canada, Toronto, and Nova Scotia.

— Canadian Anglican Resources

[Archives of Manitoba]

Documents examining the exploits of the North West Company and other Montreal-based fur trading companies at the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century.
— Glossary of French and English Terms

[British Online Archives] as a part of Prison Ship Records from the War of 1812

The Erindalian was established in 1968 for the purpose of presenting news and opinions relevant to the Erindale College community; celebrating the achievements of community members; and fostering communication between all levels of the College. The newspapers provide coverage of student politics, activities, and campus events, and feature original poetry and cartoons.
Our complete holdings of the Erindalian run from Volume 1, Issue 1 (November 14,1968) to Volume 6, Issue 10 (December 4, 1973) when the newspaper was renamed to the Medium.