UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

The Collection includes, for example, Germany - Federal/Natl Government and Germany - States, Kingdoms, Free Cities.
Click Other Countries to see other documents: for example, France, Italy, and Dutch Colonial Studies/Nederlands-koloniale Rijk Studies.

The collection consists of a digital collection of historical legal codes and similar statutory materials, as well as commentaries on codes from around the world, focusing on France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Canada, Argentina, Mexico, India, South Africa, Australia, and so forth.
It includes International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law, Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law.

Part I focuses on Europe, includes regulations, session laws, journals, and codes and commentaries. Included codes fall into several categories, such as Administration of Justice, Civil Law, Commercial Law, Military Law, and others.
Part II covers United States state and territorial codes, municipal codes, and constitutional conventions and compilations. The collection also includes commentaries on codes, drawn from Spain, Portugal, Italy, Latin America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia.

Topics British and European History include, for example, Poland: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963, Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944, and so forth.
Topics Holocaust Studies include, The Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center and Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes.

[Coherent Digital] a part of History Commons
SOURCE: The UK Foreign Office
The collection includes external correspondences, government correspondences, intergovernmental correspondences, international agreements, legal and official government materials, maps, meeting minutes, and so forth.

[Coherent Digital] a part of History Commons
SOURCE: National Archives, UK
— 1953-1960: The Khrushchev Thaw and the process of de-Stalinization, etc.
— 1961-1966: Events that altered the trajectory of the Cold War; construction of the Berlin Wall; the Cuban Missile crisis, etc
— 1967-1975: In-depth reporting of the movements for social change in Czechoslovakia (1968) and Poland (1968 and 1970), etc
— 1976-1982: The latter Brezhnev years known as the Era of Stagnation, characterized by steady economic decline across Eastern Europe; the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in 1979, etc.

[Adam Matthews] Research Source Collections include:
— Crown Servants: Series One to Three
— Black Death: Sources concerning the European Plague: Series One
— Renaissance Man - The Reconstructed Libraries of European Scholars, 1450-1700: Series One
— Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentleman, 1600-1800
— Medieval and Early Modern Women

[Gale] It offers primary sources for Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It also offers resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
PART I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450–1850
PART II: 1851–1914
PART III: 1890–1945
The collection includes more than 30 percent of the content in non-English languages.

The newspaper information system ZEFYS is a portal for free access to historical newspapers (with publication dates up to Ca. 1945) which have been digitised by Berlin State Library. See the title list.

[Archives Unbound] Published from 1672, this influential periodical promised in its first issue to chronicle the activities of luminaries in metropolitan Paris, in the French provinces, and abroad, and to offer good literature to lovers of novels and stories. Access is available via Gallica – The BnF Digital Library

The collection includes: European Women’s Periodicals from 1840 to 1940
These periodicals from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany and German language issues from Paris and Prague, the Netherlands, Dutch Indonesia, Switzerland.

A weekly literary-illustrated magazine. The founding editor of the magazine Miron Mironov was a prominent Russian émigré journalist. The journal was full of photographic and other illustrated content. The target demographic of the journal, meanwhile, was the growing community of Russian emigres in France and elsewhere serving to the cultural and literary needs, and their curiosity about the country they had left behind in the wake of the Bolshevik Revolution.

A French daily afternoon newspaper.

News in French from a French state-owned international news television network.
News in English (Mar 21, 2008–present) is available here.

At present, ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Click searchable database of text-reuses to search.
See also Practices and Legacy of 18th Century Culture, Subscription Databases, and Public Databases.

[ProQuest] includes Early English Books Online and Early European Books.

[Archives Unbound] Published from 1672, this influential periodical promised in its first issue to chronicle the activities of luminaries in metropolitan Paris, in the French provinces, and abroad, and to offer good literature to lovers of novels and stories. Access is available via Gallica – The BnF Digital Library

[Yale University] 4,400 testimonies
The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators.
Visit How to Connect to the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

The collection includes over 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Many testimonies are from the Holocaust, and so forth. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.

— Films: Sourced from the Film Archive at Imperial War Museums, the clips span the full duration of the Great War and give an immediacy to the conflict unmatched by any other medium, covering a wide range of topics and themes such as medical services, recruitment and training, warfare, women at war and propaganda.
— 50 oral history recordings: Recording dates range from 1972 to 2002.

— Volume 1
— Volume 2
The first known owner of the Harvard copy was Johann Vlyegher, canon at the cathedral of Utrecht, who bequeathed it in 1471 to the Brigittine Monastery of Marienburg at Soest near Amersfoort, Netherlands.

PERIOD COVERED: c.500—c.1500
This Encyclopedia is dedicated to Society; Faith and Knowledge; Literature; Fine Arts and Music; Economy; Technology; Living Environment and Conditions; and Historical Events and Regions.

PERIOD COVERED: c.450—c.1450
— covers materials, techniques and styles, and their changes.
— focuses on the British Isles, but considers some comparative material from elsewhere and, given the international nature of some aristocratic dress in the later Middle Ages.
— considers secular, ecclesiastical and military dress, its changes over time and the concept of fashion, examining in detail some surviving examples and the names of individual garments and their parts.
— investigates techniques of manufacture, the people who produced the goods and the equipment they used.

PERIOD COVERED: c.300—c.1500
— focuses on Christian pilgrimage in western, northern and central Europe.

European countries include Poland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, The Netherlands, Estonia, Croatia, Belgian, Latvia, Italy, France, Greece, Switzerland, Finland, Lithuania, Sweden, Ireland, and Norway.

[International bibliography of periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences]
The IBZ serves the purpose of documenting and indexing the most recent scientific articles. The bibliography focuses on German and international periodicals of the humanities and social sciences but the interdisciplinary character – with deliberate intersections into the natural sciences – needs to be emphasized. Publications from 40 countries in more than 40 languages are taken into consideration.
Users can search for subject headings in German and English.

This Online Reference Work makes the most well-known, comprehensive, and reliable texts on German literature available for the first time online: The Encyclopedia of German Literature and its supplemental series, The Encyclopedia of German Literature: The 20th Century and the Encyclopedia of German Literature: The Middle Ages. Spanning an extended time scale from the early Middle Ages to the recent present, this Online Reference Work is unique for its comprehensive scope, featuring articles on German-language authors from Germany, Switzerland, Austria, and other European countries.