Whether you're new to commercialization or an experienced entrepreneur, this guide is a quick and easy way to access the most useful resources the library has to offer, including market research, journals, books, toolkits, and information on financing and business plans.
Note: The cross-disciplinary nature of entrepreneurship is reflected in the resources highlighted here - some of which are scholarly while others are from the business trade.
For workshop and event information, please see this guide.
For information about startups and entrepreneurship at U of T, click the "Community Links" tab above.
If you have questions about these resources, or about your research in general, please get in touch. We love to hear about your ventures!
Sign up for the Entrepreneurship Newsletter. This is a (mostly) monthly entrepreneurship information digest for what's happening around entrepreneurship, starting your own business, events, funding opportunities, etc. in the University of Toronto Library, the greater University, and broader startup community.
If you're stuck in your research, don't stress! Your librarian can help.
Send me an email and let me know what you're working on and where you're having trouble. We can try to sort it out via email or we can meet for a consultation.
Help you identify the best resource(s) for researching topics in commercialization, entrepreneurship, and market/industry/competitor intelligence
Create and review your custom search strategies and suggest alternative tactics
Manage your information using citation management software
Track down hard-to-find information through the many options available to you through the University of Toronto Libraries
Act as a sounding board for your idea(s), startup, service, technology and business
Help you identify entrepreneurship support at the University and in the broader community
University of Toronto Entrepreneurship Office - Helping students and researchers make the leap from idea to commercialization are nine incubators across U of T’s three campuses. Budding entrepreneurs can also meet up and collaborate in the newly opened community space ONRamp.
The Innovations & Partnerships Office (IPO) helps build successful partnerships between industry, business, government, and the University of Toronto research community and manages U of T’s portfolio of intellectual property.
User Experience (UX) Lab - Located at Robarts Library, the UX Lab is the University's first space dedicated to studying and supporting User Experience (UX) research and design. The UX Lab is open to U of T students, staff, and faculty by appointment or during weekly drop-in sessions.
MADLab - Located at Gerstein Science Information Centre, MADLab is devoted to accelerating mobile software development at University of Toronto. The Lab hosts equipment (3D Printers, VR), collaborative workspace, user groups, one-on-one consultations, and workshops, and is open to all University of Toronto students, staff and faculty.
The Milt Harris Library (formerly the Business Information Centre) at the Rotman School of Management offers support for business research including entrepreneurship.
Toronto Public Library provides access to business databases and online research tools for residents of Toronto.
Wondering what "MVP" means in Silicon Valley? Hint: it doesn't stand for "most valuable player." These crowdsourced glossaries - created not by lexicographers but rather by people working in the industry - are a handy guide to learn your pivots from your exits as you read about startups.
Silicon Valley Dictionary - A list-based glossary inspired by the television series Silicon Valley. Some humour included.
The Startup Dictionary - Includes handy search bar for quick reference.
Entrepreneur Dictionary for Startups - a glossary of terms commonly used by entrepreneurs, investors, accelerators, and others who interact with startup ventures and startup financing. Created by FundingSage
Wordnik - Itself a startup, claiming to be the world's biggest online English dictionary. Searchable.
Gerstein Science Information Centre
9 King's College Circle
Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved.