UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections

[Readex] SOURCE: the Bureau of Indian Affairs Field Office and Central Office Records at the American National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
It contains all the manuscript letters and reports that the superintendents sent to Washington, D.C., as well as the responses and instructions received from the nation’s capital. Native tribes from every region of the contiguous United States include: Apache, Arapaho, Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Choctaw, Creek, Kickapoo, Kiowa, Klamath, Lummi, Mandan, Mojave, Navajo, Nez Perce, Osage, Potawatomi, Pueblo, Seminole, Sioux, Ute and numerous others.

The Collection includes Native American Collection, Indigenous Law, and Early State Records.

[Adam Matthew] PERIOD COVERED: 17th to mid 20th Century
✶ Tribes and Nations offers Exonyms, Endonyms, and Alternative Names (e.g., Northeast)
The collection includes:
— An original copy of The Red Man’s Greeting (1893), written on birch bark by Potawatomi Indian Simon Pokagon
— Treaties between American Indian Nations and the US Government
— First Nations of Canada
— Missionaries and Education
— Trade and Indian Economies

Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

For example, Newspapers in Canada include:
—— The Indian (1885-1886)
—— Ashigiamuk (1887-1888)
—— Kamloops Wawa (1891-1918)
—— The Caribou (1982-1986)
—— Caribou News (1987-1992)
—— Secwepemc News (1983-2014)

Online and Print at UTM

Nunatsiaq News is the newspaper of record for Nunavut and the Nunavik territory of Quebec. It has been published since 1975.

Print at UTM
The Two Row Times is a free weekly news publication aimed at reaching the Ontario-wide Native market as well as Haudenosaunee communities in the United States.

Online Access via UTL and Print at UTM
Published every week at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.

Online Access via UTL and Print at UTM
Windspeaker.com is owned and operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta (AMMSA), an Indigenous communications society dedicated to serving the news and information needs of Indigenous people throughout Canada. A monthly publication was first published in 1983, and incorporated in 1983 under the Alberta Societies Act, AMMSA has steadfastly maintained its commitment to the quality of its products and its people.

Print at UTM
Since 1984, our Yellowknife-based magazine has chronicled northern travel, culture, nature, and arts from across the territories with award-winning writing and spectacular photography.

The collection includes, "recordings of An American Indian Flag Song by Bear Clan Singers and various Warm-Up Song," "recordings of a number of Intertribal Dances, A retieval of eagle feather by Bear Clan Singers and an Invocation," "recordings of a number of contest songs by Eagle Feather Singers, Two Hawk Singers, and numerous others," and so forth.

[Alexander Street] Period Covered: 1968–2017
The role of the traditional ethnographer is changing as the perspectives and epistemologies of indigenous peoples have taken on central significance in the discipline, challenging earlier representations and implicit “us versus them” constructs.
Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.