Visit our Library for books that may be of interest. The information here is a starting point to help you explore family care topics. We encourage you to do additional research, including reviewing and comparing resources as needed. Note that the organizations and resources listed that are outside of U of T are not endorsed by the Family Care Office and are not exhaustive.

The Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services, a government agency, provides support services in homes and schools for children with disabilities and their families. 
 

Resources within the University of Toronto 

• OISE Psychology Clinic Children and Adolescent Services. The OISE Psychology Clinic provides psychological assessment and psychotherapy services to children and adolescents for emotional, social, and academic concerns. Services are provided by graduate students under the supervision of psychologists who are members of the College of Psychologists of Ontario. In some cases, services may be provided by faculty members who are registered psychologists. 
• Centre for Child Development, Mental Health and Policy. The CCDMP's vision is to foster every child’s healthy development and potential for kindness, both locally and globally. 
   

Resources within the Community 

The Family Care Office does not endorse any of the organizations listed here, nor do we assume any responsibility for the accuracy of the statements and/or the quality of services provided by these organizations.  

• AbilityOnline provides a social network technology platform that gives youth with disabilities, parents, and professionals a safe, secure, and positive online experience every time they log in. 
• Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians is a peer support organization that comprises Canadians who are blind, deaf-blind or partially sighted and supporters.  
• Aptus Centre for Treatment assists children who have a dual diagnosis of developmental disabilities and emotional/psychiatric disorders.  
• ARCH Disability Law Centre is a specialty legal clinic that practices exclusively in disability rights law. 
• Aspergers Society of Ontario The ASO provides education, resources and support to individuals with Aspergers Syndrome (AS), their families, educators, medical and mental health professionals, employers, government and the community. 
• Autism Ontario is a not-for-profit charitable organization is a strong voice for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD).  
• Centennial Infant and Child Centre is a preschool. Centennial supports children with a wide range of abilities and disabilities. Children with delays resulting from prematurity, medical, genetic and neurological conditions, as well as social/communication delays and many other special needs are part of the Centennial community. 
• Centre for Independent Living in Toronto (CILT) CILT is a consumer-controlled, community-based resource organization that supports people with disabilities to learn Independent Living skills and integrate into the community. 
• Cerebral Palsy Guidance is a resource that was created to provide answers and assistance to parents of children with cerebral palsy. 
• Learning Disabilities & Mental Health Services: A program of the Child Development Institute geared to children and youth (6 to 11 years) who are dealing with mental health issues complicated by learning disabilities. 
• Community Living Toronto offers a wide range of services including respite, person-directed planning, employment support, supported living, and community-based activities. 
• Easter Seals Ontario provides a wide range of services for children and young adults with physical disabilities, including parent support groups, financial assistance, advocacy, information and summer camps. 
• Erinoak: Serving Young People with Physical Disabilities is a children’s treatment centre, that provides a broad range of medical, therapeutic and support services to children and youth with physical and developmental disabilities, autism, communication disorders and children who are deaf or blind.  
• Extend-A-Family: Building An Inclusive Community provides support in developing meaningful relationships, community connections and networks of support for families of children with disabilities. 
• Family Service Toronto - Accessibility and Developmental Disabilities Services is a program for children and adults with developmental disabilities and their families, provides support, counselling, assistance with planning and facilitating access to resources.  
• Family Service Toronto’s Options Children Program works with children (birth to 18) with a diagnosed developmental disability in collaboration with their families, caregivers, and support networks. The Options Children Program provides case management and service navigation supports. 
• Geneva Centre for Autism offers clinical services to children and youth up to 18 years who have been diagnosed as having pervasive developmental disorders, primarily autism. Training, resources and support are also available to parents and siblings.  
• George Hull Centre for Children and Families services are designed for children and youth (birth to 18 years). Staff members are trained in psychiatry, psychology, social work, child and youth work, early childhood education and speech and language. 
• The Hanen Centre has a program called TalkAbility that teaches parents practical strategies that they can easily build into everyday routines and interactions with their child that has an autism diagnosis to encourage longer, more meaningful conversations; help their child notice and understand social cues; understand their child’s perspective and help them understand the perspective of others; foster their child’s friendship skills and expand their play skills. This program can be offered in person or online.
• Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital cares for kids with disabilities, kids needing rehabilitation after illness or trauma, kids whose medical complexity requires a kind of care they can’t get elsewhere. 
• Inclusion Canada is a national association working to advance the full inclusion and human rights of people with an intellectual disability and their families. 
• Kayla’s Children Centre is a school, therapy clinic, and recreational centre for children with disabilities, behavioural challenges, and complex medical needs. The centre supports children ages 6 weeks to 21 years who have a wide range of disabilities and offers supports and respite for families. 
• Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario guides parents and persons with learning disabilities to assist them in understanding and coping with learning difficulties.  
• Lumenus offers high-quality mental health, developmental, and community services to infants, children, youth, individuals, and families across Toronto.
• Macaulay Centres for Children provides family resource programs, parent support, leadership and a community parent program which provides in-home support to high-need families with young children (birth to 6 years). 

• Ontario Autism Program (OAP) offers support for children with autism. Find out how to register for the program and get information about funding and service options.

• Strides Toronto offers community, autism, developmental and mental health support, services and referrals in Toronto’s east end. 
• Siblings Canada Learning Hub is a curated collection of free resources that support siblings of people with disabilities 
• Surrey Place is a not-for-profit organization that serves people of all ages with developmental disabilities, autism spectrum disorder and visual impairments in the Toronto region and Northwestern Ontario. 
• Toronto District School Board: Autism Services Department has a directory of contacts for each school to ask for support as to why the child is being asked to leave school.
• Toronto Recreation Guide for Families Who Have Children with Disabilities
• Variety Village is a sports, fitness and training centre with integrated programming for children who are physically, developmentally and/or medically disabled. 

If you are a newcomer, this article, Caring for a child with special needs: Strategies for newcomer families, might be helpful while you are navigating new systems. 

Financial Resources

• Ontario’s Special Services at Home provides funding for families to purchase support services for their child with a developmental or physical disability.
• How do I Pay for Autism Services in Ontario? An article that lists a variety of funding options and includes eligibility criteria.
• Family support and respite for children and youth with special needs: Ontario also provides funding to help eligible families of children with disabilities purchase services and supports, including respite care.