This project seeks student RAs interested in the well-being aspects of leisure-time music and sports participation. We will be working on four interrelated projects: (1) a web ethnography to identify key stakeholders; (2) direct contact with leading organizations involved with education and promotion of music-making and sports; (3) a scoping review of development opportunities, motivational factors, and attitudes related to leisure-time music and sports participation; and (4) development of an Airtable database of key resources. Members of the team may also collaborate with a similar student research team at the University of Sheffield to generate cross-national comparisons on leisure-time organizations and opportunities.
Relevant Databases for Music
The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. You can use this resource to focus your searches, and then look for full texts of the articles at U of T.
The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. Since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index.
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Citation information including abstracts of scholarly journals related to the study of classical and popular music.
Citation information, including abstracts, of key music journals and magazine articles, with additional full-text coverage for select titles.
Citation information and abstracts to research about music on various musical genres from around the world.
Databases relevant for Psychology/Motivation/Wellness
The major index to all branches of psychology and its related disciplines, including retrospective coverage back to the 16th century.
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in psychology and mental health. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
Advertises themselves as the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Includes the Web of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
According to Colquhoun et al. (2014), a scoping study can be defined as: "a form of knowledge synthesis, which incorporate a range of study designs to comprehensively summarize and synthesize evidence with the aim of informing practice, programs, and policy and providing direction to future research priorities" (p. 1291).
Systematic & Scoping Review Collaboration (SSRC) - Gerstein Libraries
Knowledge syntheses: Systematic & Scoping Reviews, and other review types - Library Guide - Gerstein
Grey literature is any literature that has not been published through traditional (commercial, for-profit) means. It is commonly produced by governmental or inter-governmental agencies, research institutes, professional associations, think tanks, not-for-profit organizations, and businesses.
Grey literature documents are often produced to report on activities, for the organization's records or for wider distribution. Grey literature often has an "on the ground" perspective, and since it bypasses the delays of commercial or academic publishing, it can be more current than literature in scholarly sources.
Examples of grey literature include:
Because grey literature is not controlled by commercial publishing, it is often excluded from large databases or other mainstream sources. To find it, you will need to explore a variety of non-traditional sources, like document collections, websites, or portals, to ensure a comprehensive search.
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.