Diplomatic Translation in Early Modern Istanbul: Digital Remediation, Analysis, and Visualization - Jackman Humanities Institute - Scholars in Residence - 2023

Project Description

Participants in this project will help develop a companion website to a forthcoming book about Venetian dragomans (diplomatic interpreters) in Istanbul in the period 1550-1750. Together, we will 1) Curate archival documents and other primary documents analyzed in the book for interactive online representation and querying; 2) Annotate dragomans’ translations; 3) Formalize a taxonomy of dragomans’ translation practices; and 4) Develop relevant data visualizations. Reading knowledge of Italian would be a great asset, but is not required. Likewise, prior knowledge of digital methodologies is optional, as participants will receive extensive training in relevant digital research skills.

Suggested Resources

Historical Abstracts
Covers world history from 1450 with select full-text.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 discipl

Image Searching Resources

Images and Visual Resources Collections Guide
An extensive guide to collections of visual materials at U of T and beyond, and tips and tricks for finding, using and citing images.
Free Images: Creative Commons and Public Domain
This guide will introduce you to image resources and collections which are available for free and offered under creative common licenses or are available in the public domain.
Creative Commons Licenses: What they mean.
Creative Commons licenses give everyone from individual creators to large institutions a standardized way to grant the public permission to use their creative work under copyright law. This page explains what the various CC license options actually mean.
Limiting Google image search to items that are free to use and share.
Using Google Image Search, for each “Usage rights” filter, you can limit results to images that have license details attached, which include how you can license and use an image.
Reverse Image Search Tips from Google
Using Google's image search functionality you can upload an image and Google will search for similar images. This might be useful in finding free-to-use images similar to licensed images you've already found.
UBC's Image Citation Guide
UBC has a great image citation guide, including multiple examples of different styles of image citation for Creative Commons images, images from online image databases, images from websites and images from print & electronic publications.

Data Visualization

Data Visualization Guide
This research guide from the Map and Data Library presents an explanation of why visualizing data can be important, and a number of tools and techniques for visualizing data. In particular, the Tools and Tutorials page explains a wide variety of visualization tools and their use, and the Inspiration page presents a variety of collections of data visualizations to explore and take inspiration from.

Research Guides

Jackman Humanities Institute - Scholars in Residence - 2023

Contact Elizabeth

Project Description

Suggested Resources

Image Searching Resources

Data Visualization

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us