Program Description
Supervisor: Hadiya Roderique (Arts, Culture and Media)
Canadian media uses often negative narratives that carry powerful, coded messages about particular groups in society. There is evidence that the work of BIPOC reporters provides counter-discourses to these narratives through more nuanced portrayals of topics related to race. This project seeks to examine how white and BIPOC journalists report on race differently. Each researcher will be assigned a case study, collect reporting on these cases, and use critical discourse analysis and content analysis to analyse differences in reporting. This project appeals to students interested in Journalism, Media, Communications, Black and Indigenous Studies, and Cultural Studies. Previous experience or exposure to critical discourse analysis is an asset, but training will be provided.
Full text access to English language Canadian Newspapers.
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
Full-text access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.
Canadian academic journals and business magazines, with select full-text articles from 1983. Includes some French magazine titles.
A collection of the archives of over 500 Canadian newspapers, including the Winnipeg Free Press, the Prairie post and other frequently requested titles. Of interest to students and scholars of history, Canadian studies.
Paper of Record This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and archival U.S. newspapers, and includes full-text newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Scholarly essays, recent journal articles, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and other sources for the study of the African Diaspora.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Communist Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Spanning the Early Republic's Open Door Era to the Era of Liberalization in the mid-1960s, Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection covers two centuries of immigrant life in the United States.
A collection of publications written, edited, and published primarily by young people aged 12-20 during the second half of the 19th century. It includes more than 3,300 titles from every American state except Alaska and Hawaii, plus issues from fifteen foreign countries.
List of North American online newspaper archives from Ancestor Hunt
Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles for US and Caribbean newspapers.
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
International, with a strong American focus. English language publications only.
Via ProQuest International Newsstand.
Via Factiva, from July 1998 depending on the region.
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
Electronic database of African newspaper holdings information for North American institutions.
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
International, with a strong American focus. English language publications only.
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
libraryhelp@utoronto.ca
416-978-8450
Map
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.
