Poetics and Potentials of Hip-Hop Archives - Jackman Humanities Institute - Scholars in Residence - 2023

Project Description

The Poetics and Potentials of Hip-Hop Archives
Supervisor: Prof. Mark Campbell
This project involves the qualitative study of hip hop archives based in Seattle, Houston and New Orleans as well as analysis of content from the Northside Hip-Hop archive in Toronto. Scholars’ roles include metadata analysis and management, archival analysis and annotations, interview analysis and transcription, video editing, GIS map production and publication editing/indexing. While no specialized skills are required, knowledge of French is an asset.

Databases for Music

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Citation information and abstracts to research about music on various musical genres from around the world.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Citation information, including abstracts, of key music journals and magazine articles, with additional full-text coverage for select titles.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of scholarly journals related to the study of classical and popular music.

Databases for Black Studies

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, with select full-text access.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
International research on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Includes scholarly journals, books, working papers, and conference papers.

Journals (selected list)

Diaspora [electronic resource] : a journal of transnational studies
Diaspora is dedicated to the multidisciplinary study of the history, culture, social structure, politics and economics of both the traditional diasporas – Armenian, Greek, and Jewish – and those transnational dispersions which in the past three decades have chosen to identify themselves as ‘diasporas.’ These encompass groups ranging from the African-American to the Ukrainian-Canadian, from the Caribbean-British to the new East and South Asian diasporas.
Diaspora studies [electronic resource].
Diaspora Studies is the interdisciplinary journal of the Organisation for Diaspora Initiatives (ODI) and is dedicated to publishing academic research on traditional diasporas and international migrants from the perspective of international relations, economics, politics, identity and history.
African Diaspora
This scholarly journal seeks to understand how African cultures and societies shape and are shaped by historical and current diasporic and transnational movements. Contrary to assuming 'Africa' as a bounded geographical entity and the African diaspora as a single imagined community, the journal charts uncovered territories and entangled histories of plural diasporas and transnational movements from, to and within Africa. These include, but are not limited to, the Transatlantic, the Indian Ocean, the Middle East as well as Europe and the former socialist countries of the European continent.
African and black diaspora
African and Black Diaspora is a multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed international journal that seeks to broaden and deepen our understanding of the lived experiences of people of African descent across the globe by publishing theoretically and historically informed as well as empirically grounded works in the social sciences and humanities that are intellectually challenging and illuminating.
Black Music Research Journal
is a biannual peer-reviewed academic journal published by the University of Illinois Press on behalf of the Center for Black Music Research at the University of Illinois. It covers the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music.
African American review
is a scholarly aggregation of essays on African-American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews.

Software Training Resources

Lynda.com

As University of Toronto students, you have access to Lynda.com - a leading online learning platform that focuses on software, technology, and creative skills. It consists of a video library developed and taught by industry experts.

ArcGIS Online

ArcGIS Online is a complete, scalable and secure software-as-a-service cloud-based mapping platform which can be used to make and share maps.

In addition to training videos available through Lynda.com (above), you may also find the following resources useful:

Intro to ArcGIS Online (Map and Data Library)
Get Started with ArcGIS Online (ESRI)
ArcGIS Online Quick Lessons (ESRI)

Research Guides

Jackman Humanities Institute - Scholars in Residence - 2023

Additional resources of interest

Subject Headings - Hip Hop

Project Description

Databases for Music

Databases for Black Studies

Journals (selected list)

Software Training Resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us