Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

TSpace

TSpace is a free and secure research repository established by University of Toronto Libraries to disseminate and preserve the scholarly record of University of Toronto.

Getting Started

This page will introduce you to how to create a TSpace account and request authorization to submit to collections.

 

Step 1: Create an Account

Step 2: Request Authorization
to Submit to a Collection

Step 3: Establish a New
Community or Collection
Optional)

 

Step 1: Create an Account

 

Who needs an account?

Anyone can browse, read, and download TSpace items without an account.

However, creating an account offers additional benefits. Users need an account in order to:

  • Deposit items
  • Subscribe to collections
  • Manage collections

 

How do I create an account?

Click 'Login' at the top-right of any TSpace page.

  • If you have a UTORid, please log in using the UTORid Username & Password button.
  • If you do not have a UTORid, please click the TSpace Only Credentials button

After completing these steps, you can log into TSpace and subscribe to collections.

To submit your work to TSpace, you'll also need to request authorization to submit your work to your preferred collection. Continue to Step 2.

 

Step 2: Request Authorization to Submit to a Collection

 

Most collections require authorization to be granted before scholars may submit their work. To obtain the necessary authorization to deposit your research fill out the following form: https://forms.office.com/r/m80mHBYedR

The following information is required:

  • Name
  • Email
  • Your departmental affiliation and/or the collection/sub-community you would like to submit to
  • And a brief description of the materials you would like to submit.

 

Step 3: Establish a New Community or Collection (Optional)

 

What is a community or collection?

Communities, sub-communities and collections correspond to University of Toronto faculties, departments, centres, and so forth. Designated community/collection administrators can establish submission workflows, content policies and authorizations within general TSpace Repository Policies and Guidelines.

 

Can I create a new community or collection?

Are you interested in establishing a new community or collection? If yes, please consult the Responsibilities and Rights of Community Administrator(s) and contact us with details of your proposed community or collection.

If approved, TSpace staff will create a new community according to your specifications, provide your designated community administrator(s) with authorization and training on how to perform administrative tasks.

 

Next Steps

Once you have completed the steps above you are ready to use TSpace. If you have requested authorization to submit to a collection, the TSpace team will respond to you through email. 

To deposit your research to TSpace please consult the next steps:

Prepare for Submission

Deposit Your Work to TSpace