Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Canadian government information

A guide to resources available to the University of Toronto community for Canadian government information.


The Constitutional Act, 1791, divided the original Province of Quebec into two provinces: Lower Canada and Upper Canada. Each was provided with both an upper house (Legislative Council) and an elected lower chamber (Legislative Assembly).

Upper Canada (Ontario) and Lower Canada (Quebec) merged together in 1841 to form the "Province of Canada", also known as the "United Province" (1841 - 1866) with a single parliament with two houses. Legislative Council was the upper chamber and the Legislative Assembly was the lower chamber. See The Years Preceding Confederation.

Search also Canadiana, HeinOnline, Internet Archive, and LLMC Digital for online content.


The Legislative Assembly was the elected part of the legislature for the province of Upper Canada, the Legislative Council was the upper house governing the province of Upper Canada.