Research guides: Canadian government information: Parliamentary (federal)

Parliamentary materials

Most popular resources:

Bills (LEGISinfo), 2001+
- provides details on the passage of bills
- Explore LEGISinfo (video)
- How a bill becomes law (video, 00:50)
Debates, Journals & Committees, 1994+ (House of Commons)
- Video on how to search Debates and Committee transcript
Acts (Justice Laws Website)
CanLII
- provides access to acts, regulations, court judgments and tribunal decisions from all Canadian jurisdictions (video, 3:49)
Current Canadian Legislation (Bora Laskin Library)
Westlaw – LawSource
- a collection of Canadian case law and legislation
- include full-text cases/decisions, statutes, rules, and regulations
- include unreported cases dating from 1986 onwards, reported cases from 1977 and pre-1977 reported cases from key courts and law report series. The content greatly expands on what is available in CanLII
HeinOnline
- Annual Statutes of Canada (1792+)
- Revised Statutes of Canada (1886 - 1986)
- Provincial Statutes of Canada
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources Portal (Library of Parliament and Canadian Research Knowledge Network)
- Includes all bills, debates, journals and committee documentation of the Senate and the House of Commons from the 1st Session of the 1st Parliament (1867) until coverage at www.parl.ca begins
- Historical sessional papers are also available from 1867 to 1901
LiPad
- search full text of Canadian debates from 1901 - 2019
Sessional Papers
- 1867-1900
- 1901-1925

This section of the research guide, created by Sherry Smugler, lists major publications produced on behalf of Canada's Parliament since Confederation (1867). It provides a brief description, coverage dates and index availability for all listed parliamentary publications. A supplementary section on useful resources provides links to key websites and print titles.

Print and microfilm resources cited can be located searching LibrarySearch or Canadian Research Index. Individual fiche are available via request through LibrarySearch. Please email gov.info@utoronto.ca for help. Additional copies may be available at other University of Toronto libraries.

Research Guides

Canadian government information

Parliamentary materials

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us