Research guides: Canadian government information: Federal

General

Government of Canada Web Archive
- 2005 - 2007/08; 2013 - present (Library and Archives of Canada)
- 2007 - 2015 (University of Toronto Archive-IT)
Annual Departmental Reports
- 1867-1900: Sessional Papers (Early Canadiana Online)
- 1901-1925/26: Sessional Papers (Internet Archive/University of Toronto), click "More" under "Topics and Subjects" to browse list of Annual reports
- 1927-1930: Annual Departmental Reports
- 1930-1990s: search the library catalogue using keywords, e.g.,External Affairs and Annual
- Search individual department website for current annual reports
Canadian government publications catalogue, 1928-1992
- Weekly Acquisition list (Current)
- Weekly checklist of Canadian government publications 1979 - 2015
- Canadian government publications; catalogue 1955-1977
- Special list of Canadian government publications 1979 -1995
Federal Science Library (FSL)
- One stop portal for publications, reports and data sets from 7 science-based departments and agencies
Library and Archives Canada
- Elecronic Collection: searches digital subset of AMICUS, also a digital deposit platform
- Aurora: Library and Archives Canada catalogue
- Voila (hosted by OCLC): Canada's new national union catalogue replacing AMICUS
- Loans to other institutions
- Legal Deposit: includes analog and digital
Departments and Roles: 1867 - today (Parlinfo)
- Tracks different names of government departments over time

Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP)
- List of access to information and privacy coordinators by institution
Information about Programs and Information Holdings (Info Source)
- Information about the Government of Canada, its organization and information holdings (i.e. internal records)
- "It supports the government's policy to explain and promote open and accessible information regarding its activities. It is a key reference tool to assist members of the public in exercising their rights under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act."
Previously completed Access to Information requests
- Current
- 1993 - 2008
Proactive disclosure by department or agency
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
- Investigates complaints about federal institutions' handling of access requests
Canada Declassified
- Provides access to government records declassified under the Access to Information Act
Request information from public bodies (BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association)
- A step-by-step guide to learn how to make a request
FOI 101 - Information and Who Controls It: Webinar Recording

The government manages its finance through the budget, planned government spending (the Estimates), and reports on expenses (the Public Accounts).

The Budget is "a blueprint for how the Government wants to set the annual economic agenda for Canada."
The Estimates provides a detailed forecast, by department, of government spending in the upcoming year.
The Public Accounts provide a detailed accounting of government spending for the previous year.

The Budget
- 1875-2014: Available digitally through the Internet Archive and available in print by request at UTL Downsview
- 1968+ (online)
- Budget Speech (1868+) online
The Estimates
- 1872/73+
- 1996/97+ (online)
- Supplementary Estimates, 1996/97+
Public Accounts of Canada
- 1877/1878 - 2012/2013: in print. Some years were digitized. See catalogue record for details.
- 1995+(online)
The economic and fiscal update, 1995 - 2005/2006
- CA1..FN........-E12
- Online 1995+
Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO)
- Provides independent analysis on the state of nation's finances, the government's estimates and trends in the Canadian economy
- Estimates the cost of any proposal under Parliament's jurisdiction
Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada
- "Reviews the government's spending and revenue performance over the previous fiscal year and discusses the factors affecting these results."
- 1993/94 - 2006/07
- 1995/96+: (online)
Search Government Grants and Contributions, 2005+ (Open Government Portal)
Proactive disclosure by department or agency
- Travel and hospitality expenses
- Contracts
- Position reclassifications
- Grant and Contribution Awards
Fiscal reference tables
- 1996 - 2007 (print)
- Online 1996+
- Annual data on the financial position of the federal and provincial governments
Economic reference tables, 1992-1996
- CA1..FN........-E17
Economic review, 1972-1990
- CA1..FN......E16
Financial Audit Glossary
- Glossary of frequently used terms

Canada Supreme Court Reports
- 1877+ (CanLII)
- 1875 - 1997 (LLMC)
- 1876 + (HeinOnline)
Canada Federal Court Reports
- 1971 -1997 (LLMC)
- 1997+ (CanLII)
CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
- Provides access to court judgements from all Canadian courts and decisions from many tribunals nationally
- Primary Law Databases