Research Guides: Canadian government information: Provincial

General

Provinces and Territories (Government of Canada)
Provides links to the official web pages of the provinces and territories
GALLOP (APLIC)
Provides access to full text and/or citiations to electronic Canadian federal and provincial government documents.
Prince Edward Island and Nunavut documents are not included
Google Canadian Government Documents
Searches over 775 core domains at the federal, provincial and municipal levels of government
Canadian Public Policy Collection (Scholars Portal e-book)
Select the Canadian Public Policy Collection from the drop down menu

Canadian Research Index This link opens in a new window
- 1982 - 2018
- Major index to Microlog (CRI) microfiche set of Canadian federal, provincial and municipal documents (1978+)
- This set serves as back-up to the paper collection for federal and Ontario documents, but often the only location for print provincial material.
- Tip: search government bodies under the Company/org heading
- Individual fiche are available via request through LibrarySearch
- Paper index before 1982

Provincial & Territorial web archives
- 2016 - present (CGI DPN Archive-IT)
- Government of Alberta (University of Alberta)
- Government of Ontario (University of Toronto)
- Government of Quebec (BAnQ)
Canadian provincial elections (POLTEXT, University of Laval)
- Historical and current platforms and election results from all Canadian provinces, some goes back to 1932
Canadian provinces Throne Speeches (POLTEXT, University of Laval)
- Includes Throne Speeches of Canadian provinces since 1960
Canadian provinces Budget Speeches (POLTEXT, University of Laval)
- Historical and current Speeches, some goes back to 1960's
Budget-related speeches by Health Ministers (POLTEXT, University of Laval)
- Includes the Budget-Related Speeches by Health Ministers of the Canadian provinces since 1960
Canadian provinces Auditors Generals reports(POLTEXT, University of Laval)

Government Finance

The Budget and the Estimates form a government's financial plan for the coming year while the Public Accounts report actual spending about two years later.

Alberta
- Budget
  - Paper: 1915/16+
  - Online: 2001/02+
- Estimates
  - Paper:1960+
  - Online: 2001/02+
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1908 - 1996/97
  - Online: 2004/05+, the annual reports contain the public accounts of Alberta
British Columbia
- Budget: online 1995+
- Estimates
  - paper:1937+ (holding incomplete)
  - online: 1995+, the estimates are part of the budget document in BC
- Public Accounts
  - paper (unabridged):1910/11 - 1981/82 (holding incomplete)
  - paper (abridged): 1945/46 - 1976/77 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1996/97+
  - online: current year
Manitoba
- Budget
  - paper:1916 - 2004
  - online: 1996/97+
- Estimates
  - paper:1953+
  - online: 1996/97+, Estimates are included in the Budget
- Public Accounts
  - paper: 1901+
  - online: 1996/97+, Public accounts are within the Annual reports
New Brunswick
- Budget
  - paper:1937 - 2004 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1999/2000+
- Estimates
  - paper:1965/66 - 2003/04 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1999/2000+
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1914/15- 2005/06 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1994/95+
Newfoundland and Labrador
- Budget
  - paper:1950+ (holding incomplete)
  - online: 1995+
- Estimates
  - paper:1949+ (holding incomplete)
  - online: 1995+ (Estimates are included in the Budget documents)
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1942/43+ (holding incomplete)
  - online:1998+
Northwest Territories
- Budget
  - paper:1984/85 - 1996/97 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1999/2000+
- Estimates
  - paper:1985/86 - 1997/98
  - online:2001/02+
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1904, 1905
  - online:1998/99+
Nova Scotia
- Budget
  - paper:1964/65 - 1994/95
  - online:1995/96+
- Estimates
  - paper:1964/65 - 1997/98 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1995/96+
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1930 - 1995/96 (holding incomplete)
  - online:1995/96+
Nunavut
- Budget
  - online:2003/04+
- Estimates
  - online:2004-05+
- Public Accounts
  - online:2001+
Prince Edward Island
- Budget
  - paper:1986/87+ (holding incomplete)
  - online:1997+
- Estimates
  - paper:1973/74+ (holding incomplete)
  - online:1997+ (Estimates are included in the supporting documents of the Budget)
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1911/12+ (holding incomplete)
  - online:1999+
Quebec
- Budget
  - paper:1992/93 - 1994/95
  - online:1997/98
- Estimates
  - paper:1959/60 - 1994/95
  - online:2003/04+
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1911/12 - 1991/92
  - online:1998/99+
Saskatchewan
- Budget
  - Budget Speech:1920 - 2000 (holding incomplete)
  - Budget Highlights:1982+
  - online:1999/2000+
- Estimates
  - paper:1959/60 - 1994/95
  - online:1999/2000+ (Estimates are included in the Budget documents
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1905+ (holding incomplete)
  - Financial statements compendium (check Canadian Research Index)
  - online:2005/06+
- Provincial Auditor of Saskatchewan
Yukon
- Budget
  - online:1998/99+
- Estimates
  - online:1998/99+
- Public Accounts
  - paper:1972+ (holding incomplete)
  - online:1998/99+
  - (Public Accounts are not available for the current fiscal year)

Research Guides

Canadian government information

General

Government Finance

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us