Skip to main content

Gerstein Science Information Centre

EndNote X8 (Desktop)

How to use a citation management program to organize your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies for your papers

Direct Export into EndNote

  1. Step 1. a) Search your Topic in one of the many ProQuest databases (see below for a list of ProQuest databases). The example shown here will be in Sociological Abstracts.
    1. b) For your final results page, select "Advanced Search" to edit the results page options. Sort results by most recent first, change number of results per page to 100, and exclude duplicate documents.

  1. Step 2- Select your citations by checking off the boxes located to the left of each article in your search results. Or, select the entire page. The references will collect in your folder as you do this for all results.

OR

  1. Step 3- Click on the Save button, located in a panel in the top right corner of your search results page.

  1. Step 4- Under Export/Save, choose RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)

  1. Step 5- In the Export/Save pop-up box, choose -
    1. Step 5i- click the arrow of the dropdown menu on the right side of Output to: Then scroll through the dropdown and select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)
    2. Step 5ii- click the arrow of the dropdown menu on the right side of Content. Then scroll through the dropdown and selectCitation, abstract, indexing
    3. Step 5iii- click the arrow of the dropdown menu on the right side of Sort Order. Then scroll through the dropdown and select Most recent first

  1. Step 6- Click on the blue Continue button in the bottom right corner of the pop-up box.

  1. Step 7- In the Dialogue Box that appears, select the arrow on the right side of the Open with Other dropdown menu. Scroll through the dropdown and select Research Soft Direct Export Helper.

  1. Step 8- Once you have completed the above steps, your citations will be exported from the ProQuest database, and will automatically be added to the Last Imported folder in EndNote.

Indirect Export into EndNote

Alternatively, you can save a copy of your chosen citations as a separate file before importing them into EndNote:

1) Find and Save Citations as an RIS File

  1. Step 1- Choose your citations from your search results by following step 2 of the instructions for "Direct Export Into EndNote", which is listed in the previous section, above.

  1. Step 2- Click on the Save button, located in a panel in the top right corner of your search results page.

  1. Step 3- Under Export/Save, choose RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)

  1. Step 4- In the Export/Save pop-up box -
    1. Step 4i- click the arrow of the dropdown menu on the right side of Output to: Then scroll through the dropdown and select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)
    2. Step 4ii- click the arrow of the dropdown menu on the right side of Content. Then scroll through the dropdown and select Citation, abstract, indexing
    3. Step 4iii- click the arrow of the dropdown menu on the right side of Sort Order. Then scroll through the dropdown and select Most recent first

  1. Step 5- Ensure Output to, Content, and Order are match the selections according to step 4 above. Click the blue Continue button at the bottom right corner of the pop-up box.

  1. Step 6- Save this .ris file to your computer.

 

2) Import Citations as RIS Files into EndNote

In your EndNote library, prepare to import the citations:

  1. Step 1- Go to File in the top left hand corner of EndNote. Scroll down and click Import. Then click File, to open a file.

  1. Step 2- Browse for and open the ProQuestDocuments.ris file you had just saved on your computer according to the instructions in the "Find and Save Citations as a Text File" section above. A pop-up box called Import File will appear.

  2. Step 3- In this pop-up box, select the arrow beside the Import Option dropdown. In this dropdown, scroll through and select Reference Manager (RIS)

  1. Step 4- Select the arrow for the dropdown beside Text Translation. Scroll down and choose Unicode UTF-8

  1. Step 5- Ensure sure you have: attached the .ris file of your references, changed Import Option to Reference Manager (RIS), and changed Text Translation to Unicode (UTF-8) by following steps 2 – 4 above

  1. Step 6- Click Import button at the bottom of the pop-up box.  Your references will appear in your Imported References folder, which is located in the left-hand side menu in EndNote X8.

Other ProQuest Databases

Select one of many ProQuest databases by simply choosing Databases from the top of the ProQuest databases homepage.

A-I J-Z
  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Accounting & Tax
  • Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
  • Aqualine
  • ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  • Banking Information Source
  • Biological Sciences
  • BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
  • British Humanities Index (BHI)
  • Business Dateline
  • Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies
  • Canadian Research Index
  • CBCA Family of Indexes including Business, Education and Reference
  • COS Funding Opportunities
  • Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  • Dissertations & Theses @ University of Toronto
  • EconLit
  • Environmental Impact Statements
  • Environmental Science and Pollution Management
  • ERIC
  • FRANCIS
  • Hoover's Company Profiles
  • Index Islamicus
  • International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
  • International Index to Music Periodicals
  • International Index to Performing Arts
  • Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service)
  • PAIS
  • Pharmaceutical News Index
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Physical Education Index
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycCRITIQUES
  • Social Services Abstracts
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Technology Research Database