Skip to Main Content

Gerstein Science Information Centre

EndNote (Desktop version)

How to use a citation management program to organize your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies for your papers

EndNote Desktop: Getting Started

 

This guide is for EndNote Desktop (versions X7 & X8). 

 

  • EndNote Desktop requires a purchase and software installation. See the "Purchase/Upgrade EndNote" section below for purchase options.
  • For information on the free, basic online version, EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web), consult this guide instead.

 

What's on this page - How to Get Started with EndNote:

monetization_on Purchase/Upgrade EndNote

build Technical Requirements

laptop Browser Compatibility

search Find Full Text Articles

Purchase/Upgrade EndNote

  1. New EndNote user?
30 Day Free Trial:   Purchase EndNote 
Register for a free 30-day trial EndNote account on the EndNote website.  

Single Use and Networked - Version EndNote 20

Available for purchase at:

 
     
  1. Already an EndNote user and want to upgrade?

Follow the software update instructions on the EndNote website.

When upgrading your previous version of EndNote to the current one, we recommend:

  • backing up your previous libraries
  • then uninstalling the previous version of EndNote (to avoid conflicts between the new and old versions)
  • keeping all Microsoft Office applications (Word, Excel, Powerpoint etc.) closed during installation
  • if you are using a Mac, also keeping Pages (word processor for Apple) closed during installation
  • then installing the latest version of EndNote
 

Technical Requirements

Technical requirements for EndNote desktop differ depending on your operating system.

Windows Users: Mac Users:
  • Windows® XP SP3, Vista (32-/64-bit), Windows 7 (32-/64-bit), & Windows 8 (32-/64-bit).
  • Pentium 450-megahertz (MHz) or faster processor
  • 180 MB hard disk space available
  • 256 MB RAM
  • CD-ROM drive required for installation — not required for download installation.
  • Mac OS X 10.6 and later
  • Intel-based Macintosh
  • Hard disk with 400 MB available
  • Minimum 256 MB of available RAM
  • CD-ROM drive required for installation — not required for download installation 

 


*Note: If you will be using Pages instead of Microsoft Word for your documents on your Mac, and will be using the Cite While You Write function in EndNote, please ensure you have the latest version of Pages, as detailed on this website. For more information about Cite While Your Write, please refer to the "Using CWYW with Word" page in this guide.
 

Please consult this page for more details.

Browser Compatibility

 

warning
Safari and Chrome are not compatible with EndNote

When using EndNote (Desktop), we recommend using Firefox. 
Please note that all tips given in this guide are applicable to Firefox only.

Find Full Text Articles

You can search for and retrieve the full text PDFs of already existing references in your EndNote library, through the University of Toronto Library's databases, by using EndNote's "Find Full Text" feature.

To configure your settings to download full text articles:

  1. From the EndNote Menu, choose EDIT - Preferences - Find Full Text
  2. Open URL Path: https://librarysearch.library.utoronto.ca/openurl/01UTORONTO_INST/01UTORONTO_INST:UTORONTO?
  3. Authenticate with URL: http://myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/login
  4. Ensure that all full text search options listed are also checked off (Web of Knowledge, DOI, PubMed, OpenURL)EndNote Preferences settings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To find full-text:

  1. From the EndNote Menu, choose References - Find Full Text
  2. You will automatically be prompted to enter your UTOR ID and password.

Please note... You will only be able to log in with your TCard barcode and PIN until 28th February 2021.  Switch to UTOR ID Authentication by this time to continue using this function.