Skip to main content

Gerstein Science Information Centre

EndNote X8 (Desktop)

How to use a citation management program to organize your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies for your papers

Exporting References: EBSCO

Direct Export into EndNote

  1. Step 1- Search your Topic in one of the many EBSCO databases (see below for a list of EBSCO databases). The example shown here will be in CINAHL.
  2. Step 2- Select your citations
    1. Add citations to Folder. Click on the blue folder located to the right of each search result article

  1. Choose Go to: Folder View, located in the top right corner of the webpage

  1. Step 3- Select references from the ones in the Folder by checking off the boxes located to the left of each article.

  1. Step 4- Click Export located under "Save File As" in the top right corner of the webpage

  1. Step 5- In the webpage that appears, under "Save citations to a file formatted for", select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) , by clicking the circle located to the left of the option.

  1. Step 6- Click the grey Save button located on the left side of the webpage

  1. Step 7- In the Dialogue Box that appears, select the arrow on the right side of the Open with Other dropdown menu. Scroll through the dropdown and select Research Soft Direct Export Helper.
  1. Step 8- Once you have completed the above steps, your citations will be exported from the EBSCO database will automatically be added to the Last Imported folder in EndNote.

Indirect Export into EndNote

Alternatively, you can save a copy of your chosen citations as a separate file before importing them into EndNote:

1) Find and Save Citations as a Text File

  1. Step 1- From your search, choose your citations by adding them into the folder. Click on the blue folder located to the right of each search result article, as outlined in step 2i of the "Direct Export into EndNote" section above.

  1. Step 2- Go to Folder View, as outlined in step 2ii of the "Direct Export into EndNote" section above.

  1. Step 3- Choose the Export function.

  1. Step 4-  In the Export Manager webpage that appears, choose the following options -
    1. Choose Generic Bibliographic Management Software
    2. Click the Save button on the left side of the page.

  1. Step 5- Follow the instructions at the top of the webpage that appears. If you are using Firefox, make sure to right click using your mouse, then click Save Page As)

  1. Step 6- Save your citations as a .txt file to your computer.

 

2) Import Citations as Text Files into EndNote

 In EndNote, prepare to import the citations

  1. Step 1- Go to File in the top left hand corner of EndNote. Scroll down and click Import. Then click File, to open a file.

  1. Step 2- Browse for and select .txt file you had just saved on your computer according to the instructions in the "Find and Save Citations as a Text File" section above. A pop-up box called Import File will appear.
  1. Step 3- In this pop-up box, select the arrow beside the Import Option dropdown. In this dropdown, scroll through and select  CINAHL (EBSCO). If not listed, this may be listed under Other Filters.

  1. Step 4- Select the arrow for the dropdown beside Text Translation. Scroll down and choose Unicode UTF-8

  1. Step 5- Ensure sure you have: attached the .txt file of your references, changed Import Option to CINAHL (EBSCO), and changed Text Translation to Unicode (UTF-8) by following steps 3 – 5 above

  1. Step 6- Click Import button at the bottom of the pop-up box.  Your references will appear in your Imported References folder, which is located in the left-hand side menu in EndNote X8.

 

Other EBSCO Databases

 

A-I J-Z
  • AgeLine
  • America:  History & Life
  • American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections Series 1-4
  • American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
  • Business Source Premier
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies
  • CINAHL
  • Corporate ResourceNet
  • European Views of the Americas:  1493 to 1750
  • Film & Television Literature Index
  • Gender Studies Database
  • GreenFile
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Humanities International Index
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
  • Index to Printed Music
  • Left Index
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
  • Library Information Science & Techonology Abstracts
  • Music Index
  • New Testament Abstracts
  • Old Testament Abstracts
  • SPORTDiscus

 

Batch Exporting CINAHL Citations to Refworks

When searching comprehensively, we recommend sending all your citations from the database to a reference manager for screening.