Skip to main content

EndNote - The "X" Series (Desktop)

A bibliographic management tool which imports and stores citations from our Library's wealth of electronic databases, and facilitates writing papers.

Endnote (desktop version)

 

This guide is for EndNote X7 (desktop version).  Please note that EndNote X8 was released in Nov 2016, and this guide will be updated accordingly in the coming months.
For info on using the free online version, EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web), consult this guide.

Register for a free 30 Day Trial EndNote account

To try out EndNote (Desktop) for Windows or Mac, you can sign up for a free 30-day trial (includes option to create a free EndNote Basic account, which can be synced to the desktop version):

http://endnote.com/downloads/30-day-trial

How to Purchase/Upgrade EndNote

New EndNote users:

EndNote X8 was released in November 2016. 

University of Toronto/UHN Students/Staff with a current TCard/UHN ID may purchase the Single License for personal or departmental use at significant savings.

   Version: EndNote License X8 Single User License
   OS: Windows or Mac
   Price: 15% discount off the purchase price until 31 Dec 17.  

This would apply to individual or group license purchases only. Site licenses, prior purchases, or purchases made through another vendor would not qualify for this offer.

To take advantage of this discount,  please call 1 800 336 4474 ext 1767 or send an email directly to jim.lyons@clarivate.com using discount code LIBRARY.

It can also be purchased at the U of T bookstore/Computer Shop (available on all three campuses - full details here):  http://uoftbookstore.com/computers/software/endnote.aspThe discount is not available at the Bookstores.

Already an EndNote user and ready to upgrade?:

When upgrading your previous version of EndNote to the current one, we recommend:

  • backing up your previous libraries
  • then uninstall the previous version of EndNote (to avoid conflicts between the new and old versions)
  • then proceed with installing the latest version of EndNote
 

Browser Compatibility

We recommend using either Firefox or Internet Explorer.

Mac users:  The Safari browser is not compatible with EndNote. 

*Please note that all tips given in this guide are based on using Firefox.

Technical Requirements

Windows users:

  • Windows® XP SP3, Vista (32-/64-bit), Windows 7 (32-/64-bit), & Windows 8 (32-/64-bit).
  • Pentium 450-megahertz (MHz) or faster processor
  • 180 MB hard disk space available
  • 256 MB RAM
  • CD-ROM drive required for installation — not required for download installation.

Mac users:

  • Mac OS X 10.6 and later
  • Intel-based Macintosh
  • Hard disk with 400 MB available
  • Minimum 256 MB of available RAM
  • CD-ROM drive required for installation — not required for download installation.

Please consult this page for more details.

Find Full Text Articles

Find full-text articles

To Link to Full Text Articles through the University of Toronto Library's subscriptions, follow these steps:

   From the EndNote Tool Bar, choose EDIT - Preference - Find Full Text

  •    Open URL Path:

               http://bf4dv7zn3u.search.serialssolutions.com

  •    Authenticate with URL:

               http://myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/login

Note:  also ensure that all full text search options listed are also checked off (Web of Knowledge, DOI, PubMed, OpenURL).

EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web)

Create your EndNote Basic account in EndNote X7.  You can now attach files to your EndNote Web account!


When paired with an EndNote (desktop) purchase, you can up to 5GB of Web storage for file attachments and increase to unlimited storage for references.

Searching Tip

Search our databases first, then export references to EndNote.

Note:  Not all databases have a direct export option.

Other Indexing Services

Are you using a database that is not listed here?

Contact us at ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca and we will consider adding them in the future.

Future Pages

The HELP and 'Cite While You Write' pages are currently under construction.