Research Guides: Biotechnology @ UTM: FIND DATA & STATISTICS

FIND DATA & STATISTICS

Use this section of the guide to find Canadian, US, and international data relevant to the MBiotech program. This listing includes both industry data and research data portals.

You can also use the Factset and Bloomberg databases available at the FLC to find relevant data. For information about these databases, please refer to the FLC Resources section of this guide.

NOTE: This listing is not comprehensive. If you can't find what you need, contact your liaison librarian (jessica.hanley@utoronto.ca).

CANADIAN DATA

Statistics Canada: Health in Canada
Aggregates reports,statistics, summary tables and CANSIM tables related to Canadian health.
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
A major source of statistics about Canadians' health and well-being. In the 'Access Data and Reports' section, use the filters to find time series associated with specific themes. 'Quick Data' offers profiles with aggregated data about various aspects of Canada's healthcare system.
National Prescription Drug Utilization Information System (NDPUIS) Analytical Studies
Offers reports and studies on "...drug pricing, utilization, and cost trends in Canada and internationally." Topics covered include drug plan expenditures, market entry, biosimilars and more.
UTM Library: Health Data Resources
An excellent guide to local, provincial, Canadian and selected key US and international sources of health-related data. Also includes links to information on citing data.
< odesi >
While focused on social sciences, data from various Statistics Canada's health surveys can be accessed through this portal maintained by Ontario college and university libraries. Use the 'Browse' button to view available health survey data.
SimplyAnalytics
Includes Canadian Community Healthcare Survey data and Canadian healthcare business or organization count data.
eMarketer PRO
eMarketer PRO contains analysis and data on digital marketing, social media, e-commerce, mobile, video and more. Industry coverage includes healthcare & pharma. Many topics have Canadian data and insights associated with them.

US & INTERNATIONAL DATA

OECD Health Statistics
Offers a broad range of health indicators and statistics for OECD-member and non-member countries.
World Health Organization (WHO): Global Health Observatory Data Repository
A key source for international health statistics by topic and by country. Includes data for specific diseases or health conditions. Can be browsed or searched.
GDHx (Global Health Data Exchange)
This website claims to be "...the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data." Maintained by the University of Washington's Institute for Health Metrics & Evaluation, this website allows users to search by keyword and by country, or browse by data type, by organization or by topic (called 'keyword).
HealthData.gov
A data portal maintained by the US Department of Health and Human Services. Data can be browsed by theme or searched.
SimplyAnalytics
Includes US consumer healthcare expenditure data and US healthcare business and organization count data.
Medicare Price Lookup
Provides US national average prices for outpatient procedures done in both ambulatory surgical centres and hospital outpatient units.
CMS Data Navigator
A discovery tool for Medicare and Medicaid data.
National Library of Medicine (NLM): Health Services Research Information Central
The NLM (the publisher of PubMed) maintains this curated set of links to high quality sources of data series, statistics, repositories, surveys and other information resources.
CDC Wonder
Provides access to a wide range of reports and public health data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

RESEARCH DATA REPOSITORIES

US National Library of Medicine: NLM Products and Services
Provides access to various datasets, APIs and databases. Searchable by topic or resource type.
National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI): Data and Software
An organization dedicated to contributing to the knowledge base in biotechnology, as well as to help the development of technology in this field. Use this link to access NCBI's databases and collection of datasets.
DrugBank
DrugBank is "a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
ChEMBL
A "... database of bioactive drug-like small molecules [that] contains 2-D structures, calculated properties (e.g. logP, Molecular Weight, Lipinski Parameters, etc.) and abstracted bioactivities (e.g. binding constants, pharmacology and ADMET data)." Maintained by the Wellcome Trust, this is one of many databases of free, up-to-date molecular databases offered by the European Bioinformatics Institute.
re3data.org
A registry of research data depositories that lists 2000+ research data repositories. Can be browsed by subject, content type or country, or searched by keyword.

Biotechnology @ UTM

STATISTA

RESEARCH TIP

FIND DATA & STATISTICS

CANADIAN DATA

US & INTERNATIONAL DATA

RESEARCH DATA REPOSITORIES