Research Guides: Biotechnology @ UTM: ARTICLE DATABASES

Agencies for Health Technology Assessment

International HTA database
The international HTA database provides free access to bibliographic information about ongoing and published health technology assessments commissioned or undertaken by HTA organisations internationally. This includes INAHTA members and non-INAHTA members. The database provides a single point of access to information that would otherwise be more difficult and time-consuming to search for on individual agency websites.

The HTA database is unique in that it contains records of ongoing HTA projects, which are updated on the database when projects are completed.

ARTICLE DATABASES

Use the databases listed below to find articles—both peer-reviewed and other kinds.

FIND DIFFERENT TYPES OF ARTICLES

SCIENTIFIC JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use these databases to find journal articles from life sciences, chemistry, and other scientific disciplines.

This listing is NOT comprehensive. if you can't find what you need, please contact David Gerstle (david.gerstle@utoronto.ca).

PubMed @ UofT
Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. This version of PubMed links users to the full-text of journal articles available through UofT Libraries.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
A key database for drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, and clinical and experimental human medicine. Offered on the OVID platform, select 'EMBASE Classic+EMBASE' to search within this database.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Offers broad coverage of engineering, including biotechnology, bioengineering, instrumentation and medical devices. Select Compendex as the database to search on the Engineering Village platform.

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
A key database for the chemical research literature (including patents) that also allows users to search for substances and reactions. A free account must be created in order to use SciFinder; follow the instructions provided in the catalogue record. See the box below and to the left for more SciFinder help.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
A scientific, peer-reviewed journal that makes and publishes video of scientific experimentation. Intended to increase reproducibility and transparency in biological, medical, chemical and physical research, it includes 7000+ video articles in biochemistry, bioengineering, biology, immunology & infection, neuroscience and other disciplines.
Annual Reviews
Published once a year for almost 50 subject areas, each issue of an Annual Review contains articles that summarize significant research developments in these disciplines. Relevant Annual Review titles for MBiotech include Biomedical Engineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Cancer Biology, Genomics and Human Genetics, and Pharmacology and Toxicology.
Nature Reviews Disease Primers
These journals provide global overviews of specific diseases and the state of research therein. Published weekly, they cover epidemiology; disease mechanisms; diagnosis, screening and prevention; management; and quality of life.

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

Sometimes, you may need to extend your research across multiple disciplines. Some databases offer broad coverage of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences, rather than focusing on a specific discipline or a specialized subject area.

Consider using one or more of the databases listed below when your topic extends beyond science or medicine - or you are simply not finding enough relevant articles in one or more of the databases listed above.

Web of Science: Core Collection
A major multidisciplinary database. Use it both to search for articles AND to identify articles that cite other authors or articles you have found. Web of Science indexes almost 6,000 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and 2,000+ journals from the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Another major multidisciplinary database. Covers 22,000+ journal sources from science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as almost 8M conference papers and 28+M patents.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of content, including patents, presentations, and reports, as well as journal articles. However, it does not offer an easy way to filter for peer reviewed articles. Use the 'Library Links' option under 'Settings' to sync Google Scholar with UTL's journal holdings for seamless full-text article access.

MANAGEMENT JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use these databases to find journal articles from management or business disciplines.

This listing is NOT comprehensive. if you can't find what you need, please contact Jessica Hanley (jessica.hanley@utoronto.ca).

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000+ academic and industry journals. Includes MarketLine's company profiles (with SWOT analyses), available from the top navigation bar. Also offers online full-text of Harvard Business Review.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
A major business database with broad coverage of scholarly journals, trade journals, and news sources. Offers a powerful thesaurus for searching and good historical coverage. Some overlap with Business Source Premier but some unique content.

NEWS ARTICLES

There are times when you may need news articles for assignments or pre-placement research. For example, you may be researching industry trends, analyzing a company's strategy, or need examples of best practices in a given area.

Use these databases to find news articles.