You can get an instant formatted citation for most items in the U of T Library's LibrarySearch. 

1. Find the item in LibrarySearch.
2. Select the item title.
3. Navigate to the options available under the "Send to" heading. 
4. Select Citation.

Citing Sources / Create your Bibliography (UofT Libraries)

The Citing Sources / Create your Bibliography Guide includes links to many helpful online tutorials, style guides, and related documents to help you understand citation practice, and build correct citations for your bibliography.

Film & Film Reviews

Citing and referencing: Film / Video Recording Guide - Monash University Library  

• MLA Style - film and video

MLA Style

MLA Handbook (9th Edition) 

• UTORID required
• eBook, print copies at Innis (Reference) and various UofT Libraries
• Published by the Modern Language Association of America

MLA Style Guide (8th Edition) - Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)

• MLA In-Text Citations 
• MLA Works Cited 
• MLA Formatting Guide 
• MLA Style Demo (videos) 

MLA Style Guide (8th Edition)  - Monash University Library 

• Film & Video Recordings (includes Film reviews, but be sure to check the style advice for the formats - newspapers, journals / periodicals which includes magazines)

Chicago Style 

Chicago Style Guide (17th Edition) 

• UTORID required
• eBook, print copies at Innis (Reference) and various UofT Libraries
• movies and film; multimedia content 

Chicago Style Guide (16th Edition) - Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)

• Chicago Formatting Guidelines
• Chicago Notes & Bibliography

Chicago Style Guide (17th Edition) - Monash University Library 

• Citing and referencing: Visual material and captions
• Audiovisual media and music scores
• Archival material

Writing Advice (University of Toronto)

Using Sources 

• How Not to Plagiarize, Standard Documentation Formats,  Using Quotations, Paraphrase and Summary

Student Handouts (PDFs)

• Developing Coherent Paragraphs, Summarizing, Verbs for Referring to Sources, Wordiness: Danger Signals and Ways to React

Citation managers can help you:  

• collect the citation information for books, articles, websites, and more 
• automatically format in-text citations and bibliographies
• save the citation information, PDFs and notes in the cloud
• organize the research materials in folders or share folders with others

More info can be found in UofT Libraries Citation Management Guide (includes Mendeley) or this comparison chart of reference management software on Wikipedia for even more suggestions.