Skip to main content
Banner Image

Images and Visual Resource Collections

Online guide to image collections for faculty, researchers and students at the University of Toronto.

Digital Image and Document Collections

The British Museum offers free use of images in their collection under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) license. If you do a search with the term ‘revolution’ you will receive coins, prints, portraits and a wide range of objects associated with the various revolutions in history, approximately 4,000 results. You need to register with them first, and if you want to have higher resolution images, they will send them to your email account, see http://www.britishmuseum.org/join_in/using_digital_images/using_digital_images.aspx?asset_id=1335915001&objectId=1622168&partId=1

GALLICA is the French National Biblotheque which has free access to a large image database on images. One of the collections is entitled Revolution (1789-1799).  http://gallica.bnf.fr/html/und/images/la-revolution-1789-1799

French Revolution Digital Archive Standford University, http://frda.stanford.edu/ for the image collection see http://frda.stanford.edu/en/images . Free for use if not commercial. Copyright statement: Use and reproduction:  This image(s) is a digital reproduction of works from the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France that are no longer protected by intellectual property rights. The use of these contents for commercial purposes is subject to payment and covered by a license. Commercial use includes the resale of the contents in the form of prepared products or the supply of services. For commercial use, contact: utilisation.commerciale@bnf.fr. The use of these contents for non-commercial purposes is free of charge, subject to compliance with applicable French legislation and notably the inclusion of the source’s statement.

American Revolution    http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/references/images.cfm  Lists several different sites pertaining to the Civil War, Slavery, and other related aspects.

Russian Revolution   Getty Institute.

http://www.gettyimages.ca/photos/russian-revolution?sort=mostpopular&excludenudity=true&mediatype=photography&phrase=russian%20revolution  

New York Public Library Digital Collection    http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/   

  1. Russian Revolution   

http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/collections/russian-revolution-events-and-personalities-an-album-of-photographs#/?tab=about    

  1. Revolution (Haitian, French, Russian, etc.)

http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/collections?utf8=%E2%9C%93&collection_keywords=revolution

Smithsonian Institute Digital Collection

http://sirismm.si.edu/siris/sirisimagegallery.htm

John Hopkins – Large Site for Latin American Digital Collections, e.g. Mexican Revolution

http://guides.library.jhu.edu/c.php?g=202500&p=1335398

Getty Institutte

http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/photo/