Research Guides: Images and Visual Resource Collections: UT Licensed Collections

Images from the UT Licensed Collections

Canadian Rowers, Sept. 2011, Win Bronze, World Games. Photo: Reuters. Digital Image: Associated Press, FACTIVA. Oct. 14, 2011.

Faculty and Students at UofT - Authorized Access Required

ArtStor
Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as other forms of visual culture.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Available in FACTIVA terms (news events from around the world with a picture collection).

Early Encounters in North America ( EENA )
University of Toronto Library e-resource offering access to images and their text collection of early reports, letters, diaries, etc. Includes many of early texts (A briefe and true relation of the discoverie of the north part of Virginia, and more). contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between the French and Hurons.
video...close...
You can search for images by text, year, medium and other filters. An excellent source.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.

Oxford Dictionary of Art Online
Grove Art Online offers over 5,000 images, with a focus on supporting fundamental art teaching and education.
Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001).
Illustrated London News Historical Archives
Images can be printed but not downloaded from this site. A completely searchable facsimile of the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1842 to 2003, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
video...close...
Terms of use: Restricted to the University of Toronto community.

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). As is to be expected, there is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images can be searched for in JStor

Musee d'Orsay, Paris. Image Gallery
The catalogue of works includes all the collections for which the Musée d'Orsay has responsibility, except for the drawings from the Musée d'Orsay collection, kept in the Graphic Arts Dept of the Louvre museum.
video...close...
You are permitted to use this online item for research or private study.You may provide a link to this online item on any web page. Use this permanent link:

http://simplelink.library.utoronto.ca/url.cfm/89023

You may provide a link to this online item on Blackboard or any web page. If you would like to find out whether a digital copy of material from this online item may be included in Blackboard and course web pages, please contact us at library.licensequeries@utoronto.ca, stating which title you are enquiring about, and we will obtain the information from the publisher as quickly as possible.
ProQuest - Embedded Images in Journals
Go to Advanced Search, select Document Type, Image or Photograph, then add key words to your search.
video...close...
Terms of Use: "The Products may be used for your internal research or educational purposes..." see http://search.proquest.com.myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/info/termsandconditions?accountid=14771

East Asian Library, Robarts Library at U of T subscribes to the Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries (Asahi newspaper online). This database has the Asahi Shinbun Rekishi Shashin Akaibu (Asahi Newspaper Historical photographs archive). It is in Japanese. You can browse for photographs by category. As an example, here is a link to colonial rule in Manchuria. The permanent link to this resource is http://go.utlib.ca/cat/7911786